Books · Favorites · Jane Austen · My Dream Guy · Old Reviews

I 💜 Austenland

MV5BMjE2MTUzMjgyNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjY4NDM4OQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

I 💜 Austenland

Reread (uptenth time) finished March 27, 2014

Reread on kindle book while listening to audiobook. And watched and love the movie. Rereading with the audiobook was even better.

Austenland Shannon Hale

2008 and on
I like Austen, a lot. I’ve read all her novels (including the non finished ones). I’ve seen a lot of Austen films, and have read some Austen related books. I mention this because the main character has an obsession of Austen and Mr. Darcy. Shannon Hale is more known for her young adult fiction fantasy, but Austenland is adult fiction.

This book is a modern ADULT British Chick book. This is geared more for adults and for people who are familiar with Colin Firth’s portrayal of Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice – The Special Edition (A&E Miniseries).

It has a typical 32 year old single woman with high expectations of her Mr. Right. Although in Jane’s case, it’s Mr. Darcy. Her English attitude and accent was off putting at times, as well as Jane’s childish inner thoughts. Shannon went too far in making Jane insecure. I did like some of the humor and even laughed a little.

The premise of the retreat and Regency era role playing is both original and comedic. The details of Pembrook Park is delicious to where I imagined myself there. This storyline and romance is why I have and will continue to reread this.

I got this ebook for $2 and I also have the paperback.

The Movie!! I loved it!!!! JJ Feild was great (so was the other cast members).

Austenland Shannon Hale movie

Austenland Shannon Hale movie Darcy

One thought on “I 💜 Austenland

Leave a Reply

