Books · Classic · Don't Panic · Favorites · movie · Old Reviews

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

9780345418913_l

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (kindle own w/ iTunes audio) 5★♥♥

I’ve seen the movie quite a few times and have enjoyed it. It has a lot of actors that I really liked. And I tried reading the book a few times last year. I found it funny, but very slow. So this time I read it along with the audio book read by Stephen Fry. I guess I needed that little help because I don’t often read science fiction books about space travel, aliens, and so on. I like the movies, but reading them isn’t as often.

Stephen Fry did a really great job on the audio book reading. I felt that the beginning skipped around in a way that made it slow. I did not like Zaphod Beeblebrox at first (I liked him in the movie, well only because of Sam Rockwell). After first meeting Zaphod, the story picked up. There was some science talk that I wasn’t interested in. So it was good that I was also listening to the audio book in order to push past that. And there is eventually a much quicker, simpler meaning told after the science talk.

Arthur Dent and Marvin are still my favorites. And even with Stephen Fry’s audio, I still imagined them as Martin Freeman and Alan Rickman. And I thought the book was a bit more funny than the movie was. I loved the ending, small spoiler – which was a little different than the movie’s ending. So a slight surprise. And really hilarious./spoiler.

I have both the Ultimate Hitchhiker’s hardcover book (collection of 5 books). And the first book in kindle format with a question/ answer bit with the cast from the movie. And then the appendix. The interviews were nice, but really long. Had to be about 20 questions for the casts. It was just something nice to read once. I don’t think I’ll be reading the Q&A for the movie again. I would watch the movie again.

And I am looking forward to reading the second book. With the audio of course.

enhanced-buzz-wide-30565-1412289854-18 9676eb8298eaa31382b4705e9019a5c8

Hitchhiker’s Guide:
““Space,” it says, “is big. Really big. You just won’t believe how vastly hugely mindbogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it’s a long way down the road to the chemist, but that’s just peanuts to space. Listen . . .” and so on.”

And I love the Movie

hitchhikersguide

Leave a Reply

