Books · Classic · Favorites · movie · Old Reviews

Nancy Drew

ND1tsotoc

The Secret of the Old Clock (Nancy Drew Mystery Series, Book 1) by Carolyn Keene 5★♥ read in the 1980s and reread in 2014

Reread this book in September. I read this before my teens, so I didn’t expect much. Took me a few days as I was idly reading it a few hours here and there between that chaotic month I had. It was written in the 1930’s and I definitely noticed the difference between the terminology and behaviors from then compared to now. There was one part that almost had me thinking that Nancy was a lesbian…

“Nancy was attracted to both girls and responded to their friendly welcome.”
Nancy’s response after meeting two girls her age.

It’s like my response with re-watching the original Annie. A “Daddy Warbucks” today, wanting to borrow an orphan for a week would be seen as a pedophile. But that’s just how things were back then I guess.

And I know this was intended for a young audience, but 18 year old Nancy sure had it easy. And everyone seemed to want to spill their life-story to her after just barely meeting Nancy. And yes, the very beginning it says that she was 18 years old. My mom, who says that she recalls reading all the books available to her in the series, thought that she was younger. But no.

Anyhow, this was a good read. Nice suspense and mystery to it. When I’m in the mood for a quick read, maybe I’ll read one with both Nancy and the Hardy Boys. I remember liking those more.

The Movie… Emma Roberts was good, but the movie wasn’t the best.

nancy drew movie

Leave a Reply

