Books · Favorites · movie · Old Reviews

Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas

lg-suzannesDiaryForNicholasSuzanne’s Diary for Nicholas by James Paterson 5 stars★ and still a favorite♥ read in 2014

I read this book back when it was first published in 2001. I remember loving the book because I felt that the characters were real. That’s what made this such a tear jerker for me back then. But now I’ve forgotten some of the story. So that’s why I’ve reread this. And it’s now an even more tear jerker story. I think there was about four parts in this that really had me crying.

The story begins with Katie, who was just dumped by her boyfriend Matt Harrison. He then leaves her a diary for explaining why he left her. Katie is drawn to reading the diary, as was I. The diary is Suzanne’s to her baby son, Nicholas.

SOME SPOILERS…
♥ Suzanne (and Matt’s) last entries was when she was 37 years old, same age as me now. Of course, when this was first written, I was in my twenties. I don’t think I was so emotional and connected that much to the characters as I did now. I certainly forgot what happened to young Nicholas. And it breaks my heart now because I have 2 nieces and 1 nephew on the way. And just thinking of what happened to Nicholas has me teary eyed right now. ♥
ok end spoilers

There are other things in this story too. A lot of life moral lessons. Like the story of the 5 balls theory:

“Imagine life is a game in which you are juggling five balls. The balls are called work, family, health, friends, and integrity. And you’re keeping all of them in the air. But one day you finally come to understand that work is a rubber ball. If you drop it, it will bounce back. The other four balls — family, health, friends, integrity–are made of glass. If you drop one of these, it will be irrevocably scuffed, nicked, perhaps even shattered. And once you truly understand the lesson of the five balls, you will have the beginnings of balance in your life.” ~ Suzanne Bedford Harrison

A lot of the moral lessons I got from this is to live life. To take the time to listen to what life and the world has to offer. I liked that and the idea to have hope. This was also a starting fresh theme as both Suzanne and Katie choose to not live the unhappy/ or stressful life and start anew.

My favorite quote…

“Good memories are like charms, Nicky. Each is special. You collect them, one by one, until one day you look back and discover they make a long, colorful bracelet.” ~ Suzanne to Nicholas.

Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas James Patterson Quote

This was an emotional story for me. I loved Matt and Suzanne, and Katie grew on me. I don’t think I’d be able to watch the made-for-tv movie, despite even Christina Applegate, who I like. I just don’t think I’d be able to watch because it’s such a heart tugging story.

 

Leave a Reply

