Books · Classic · Favorites · Old Reviews

Judy Blume in June

31RB92icTvL._UX250_

These three books of Judy Blume’s I read during the June 2014.

519gL0a9xBL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_It’s Not the End of the World by Judy Blume 4.5★

Character seemed a little bit of a whiner despite being 12 y.o.
A reread. I read this when I was in my pre-teens, so I didn’t remember much of it. This time I liked it. Just didn’t think the main character acted like a 12 y.o. really. But then I’m not a middle child like Karen. And she was 12 y.o. in 6th grade, while I was like her friend Val Lewis in 7th grade. And Karen still had a bit of a whiny attitude, not like a 12 y.o.

37739Blubber by Judy Blume 4.5★
My school life summed up

“But if I got the right answers what’s the difference?”
“Your equations are backwards. You’ll have to do the paper over.”
“I don’t see why,” I told her.
“Because you’re supposed to be learning how to think the problems through and you aren’t thinking the right way.”
“Isn’t there more than one way to think?”

3_are-you-there-god-its-me-margaret-by-judy-blumeAre You There God? It’s Me, Margaret. (1970) by Judy Blume 5★

Best quote:
“”We must, we must, we must increase our busts…””
– Margaret Simon and friends (an excersize the pre-teen girls were doing in order to “increase our busts”)

Leave a Reply

