Best Of · Favorites · Harry Potter · Hunger Games · movie · Star Wars

My Tip Top 10 Favorite Movies

moviesbest-of

Along with my passion of reading and watching movies (and tv), I have a hobby of making lists. I’ve made lists on IMDb (about a dozen or so) and another bunch on Shelfari.com.

My List for my Top 10 Movies

I watch a lot of movies. And just picking 10 will be hard, so I will see if I can do this. I think I’ll only be picking the movies that I’ve watched at an excessive amount of times and still do watch exessively. Or even know a lot of the lines of the movie by heart. That sort of thing…

images #01. The Princess Bride. This is such a great cult classic. I still love this. I even got my some cousins who are a good 2 decades younger than me to like it a lot too. And there’s so many good quotes that I love from this movie. I even read the book a couple of years back and enjoyed that just as much!

MV5BMTYwNTM5NDkzNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwODQ4MzY5._V1._SY209_CR6,0,140,209_ #02. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I really can’t recall how many times I’ve seen (let alone read) this series. And every one of them have a special part in my heart. And whenever I rewatch this movie in particular, I can’t get over how young these actors where.

MV5BMjA4NDg3NzYxMF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTgyNzkyNw@@._V1._SY209_CR0,0,140,209_ #03. The Hunger Games

MV5BMTM3Mzg0Mzc2NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDEwNTk0NA@@._V1._SX140_CR0,0,140,209_MV5BMjE2MzQwMTgxN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDQzNjk2OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_ #04. A toss up between Spaceballs or Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back. When I want comedy, Scaceballs is always the best (well any Mel Brooks film that is). And then the action, well Empire Strikes Back is my favorite of the Star Wars bunch.

MV5BMTEyMzM3NDQyMjJeQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDE4ODY0NjEx._V1._SX140_CR0,0,140,209_ #05. The Goonies. I loved this movie when I first saw it. I haven’t seen it that often anymore, but I still really love it.

#06. The Book Thief
I saw the movie and loved it. And that got me to finally bump the book up on my TBR list and to read the book. I was procrastinating because I really do have a long TBR list for both books and movies. I wish I had more time to do these things really. I was very glad I got around to watching and reading this one.
#07. The Departed
I am a fan of a lot of the people casted in this movie. This had a big cast. It’s my favorite because of the cast and the great story. And it had me fall in love with Leonardo Dicaprio (loved him in What’s Eating Gilbert Grape and then got annoyed with him in Titanic. Was even making fun of his name for a bit).
#08. The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings
Peter Jackson did a good job with these movies. Despite making The Hobbit into 3 movies! (really?! ridiculous).
#09. Austenland
Best Austen (satire/ retelling) movie IMO. I love the cast in this movie. They kept the movie light and funny. Just like the book by Shannon Hale is.
#10. Bridget Jones’s Diary
Oh Bridget. I love  these books (well the two and a half, I still haven’t read the third book). For a while, when I was keeping up with my little journals in the late 90s, I started even writing a bit like Bridget. With the V. G. (very good) and so on. I have lost count how many times I’ve watched these movies.

So yes, a lot of these movies are Fantasy, Sci-Fi or Romance movies. There also movies that I’ve just really enjoyed. A lot.

4 thoughts on “My Tip Top 10 Favorite Movies

  1. Ah, now you’re speaking my language! Sadly, I still have to see The Goonies. That is a hole in my cinematic knowledge. I could never make a list like this. At the time of making this comment I’ve seen 6,152 movies. Heck, I just pulled some movies off my shelf and they’re all great. But none of them stands above the others. They’re all special in their own way. At best they sit in the same class of movies.

    -Celine And Julie Go Boating is my perfect background movie.
    -The ending of Blow Out always gets me. When Nancy Allen screams at the end. It’s also a gem in the careers of John Travolta and director Brian De Palma that I don’t think is widely known.
    -My Name Is Nobody is a priceless sendoff for Henry Fonda in Westerns and a great Terence Hill movie.

    I could go on and on, but I need to stop and try to finish Twitches since apparently all I review now are Hallmark movies, children’s films, Satanist paranoia propaganda, or adult films. I’m in that 4th stage of cinephilia where you’ve spent so much time in the canon that you’ve moved past it and are on an endless exploration.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

