Books · Favorites · Jane Austen · My Dream Guy · Old Reviews

Pemberley by the Sea

51d4cv6t4oL._SX369_BO1,204,203,200_ themanwholovedprideandpreju-200x280

Pemberley by the Sea (a.k.a. The Man Who Loved Pride and Prejudice) by Abigail Reynolds 4.5★♥ Read in 2014
(The Woods Hole Quartet)

“If someone ever discovered a way to bottle essence of Calder Westing, she would be an addict.” ~ Dr. Cassandra “Cassie” Boulton

This is a good Austen-inspired 21st century romance story and a favorite. It’s very modern as there is some sex scenes. But it’s not too graphic and it doesn’t take away from this nice story. There is a lot of miscommunication and at times that I though finally a happy ending, wasn’t so. The character development was good and I felt connected to them. Cassie and Calder were my favorites, but of course since it was their story.

I liked having Calder’s point of view in this story. He is today’s Mr. Darcy and having his thoughts brought a new light to the Pride and Prejudice story.
Cassie is a research scientist, so there is a lot of Marine Science mentioned in this. It’s been ages since my last science class, so a lot of the terminology flew right pat me. It didn’t take me away from the story much though.

This is a favorite Austen-inspired book for me, but not a complete 5 stars. I felt that, though it was very realistic, Cassie and Calder’s relationship was very frustrating at times. I thouhht they’d get together at the beginning, but it’s not that easy.

Leave a Reply

