2015 Reviews · Books · Harlequin Books · Worst of

The Next Best Thing

51Xq3vcQg9L._SX314_BO1,204,203,200_The Next Best Thing (Gideon’s Cove: Book 2) by Kristan Higgins 2โ˜…

(The Short Synopsis: 30 year old widowed Lucy decides to start dating again. But then again, she’s already been sleeping with her dead husband’s brother for over a year now).

I skipped around reading this. I did not like the main characters. Are they even the main characters? They’re supposed to be. But I’ve got to read more of the “Black Widows”, and the town, and the food, and then the other characters are just small glimpses to who they are. I’m feeling no chemistry between the couples. It feels forced. Really forced. Like they HAVE to like each other. At one point, Ethan even told Lucy that she HAD to give him a chance for a relationship together.

And I didn’t like Kristan’s humor for women who are 30 years old and thinking they are hitting Menopause. Or any other humor that her life isn’t complete without a husband and 4 children.

This was my first attempt to Gideon’s Cove series and I wasn’t impressed. I have read some Kristan’s other books and I will continue if they interest me. But I won’t continue with this series.

2 thoughts on “The Next Best Thing

Leave a Reply

