Best Of · Books · Wednesday

To Diet or To Health

The goal: I am attempting to lose 10 pounds in 1 month (wish me luck, because they always say the first 10 is the hardest).

And so naturally I have fished through for some books.

Dieting means to me a binge eating faze. And I already have a bad habit with food (the “midnight munchies”!). So really what I need is to just focus on what types of foods I shouldn’t eat. Like I love some of Sansai‘s Californian Rolls and Chicken plate.

Sansai Japanese food-1100048381

But those Californian Rolls have a lot of Sodium (the mayo). So I have to go with the Tuna Rolls instead, which are pretty good with some wasabi.

As for my weight… well that old saying that you never ask a lady her age (39) or weight… well hog-wash. I weigh at 209 pounds (bmi I haven’t a clue). My teens and 20’s was always easy for my weight. I even lost a lot of weight in Navy Boot Camp (from 135 to 125) (made a pack to stop eating 2 donuts in the mornings and ate the other very mediocre foods).

2005
2005 (and wearing a size 14) (And yes, that is the Navy Ship USS Boxer I was stationed on)
Summer 2015 with my nephew at a Angel baseball game
Summer 2015 with my nephew at a Angel baseball game (and wearing a size 18)

I have Arthritis in my hips, so finding a workout that fits me now (compared to when I weighed at 135 in my 20’s), well it’s hard. Swimming is great. But then having a severe viral infection during the end of summer messes up my workouts too. I do go to the gym. Definitely not regularly though. I didn’t go during the Springtime or last Winter. I did go a lot in the Summer.

And now I’m back to having the time for me. I’m now a caregiver for my mom and grandpa (24/7) and even baby sit my 5 year old niece 3+ times a week. And so when I explained this to the people at my gym so they can help me set up a personal trainer/ schedule, the employer asked “Who takes care of you?” Good question. Although I suspect that’s what they sell to everyone. But it’s still a valid point.

And so as I write this with a very sore body after a days worth of working out from Wednesday and the dread of returning on Friday… I have looked through Shelfari’s Health and Weight Issues books tagged. And I’ve made some lists. As for the Nonfiction Self-help books, well it would be great to get feedback. So please continue reading.


The To-Be-Read Fiction Books… well I think I will start with this list because I am not a fan of “preachy books.” (And in no particular order here)

  1. Jemima J: A tale of ugly ducklings and swans by Jane Green
  2. The Earth, My Butt, & Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler
  3. Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer
  4. Conversations with the Fat Girl by Liza Palmer
  5. Big Girl by Danielle Steel
  6. Pretty Face by Mary Hogan
  7. Size 12 is Not That Fat by Meg Cabot (I wish I was a size 12 again)

And then there’s The Nonfiction (Preachy Self-help) Books

  1. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert (because I have owned the paperback and movie since the movie was released on dvds)
  2. Cancer Schmancer by Fran Drescher (“From Fran Drescher, here’s the funny and empowering New York Times bestseller about taking charge of health problems and finding humor in the face of adversity.”)
  3. The Body Book by Cameron Diaz
  4. The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone
  5. The Ultimate Weight Solution by (Dr Phill) Phillip C. McGraw
  6. Skinny Bitch: A No-Nonsense, Tough-Love Guide for Savvy Girls Who Want to Stop Eating Crap and Start Looking Fabulous! by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin
  7. French Women Don’t Get Fat: The Secret of Eating for Pleasure by Mireille Guiliano
  8. Wheat Belly by William Davis (I’ve got a fat belly. Have even been asked the dreaded and mean question for overweight people: “Are you pregnant?” So does this book even help?)
  9. The South Beach Diet by Arthur Agatston (is this helpful?)
  10. Good Calories, Bad Calories: Fats, Carbs, and the Controversial Science of Diet and Health by Gary Taubes (?)
  11. Our Bodies, Ourselves (1973) A New Edition for a New Era by The Boston Women’s Health Book Collective (?)
  12. Chicken Soup for the Soul (1993) 101 Stories to Open the Heart and Rekindle the Spirit by Jack Canfield (Compiler), Mark Victor Hansen (Compiler) (own on Kindle)

So that’s the list of books I might read while attempting to lose 10 pounds in 1 month.

5 thoughts on “To Diet or To Health

  1. I think your goal sounds totally doable! You can do this πŸ™‚ I have a secret, private fitness support group on Facebook for the month of October- would you like to join us? You seem really positive and motivated, and I think you could inspire others!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

