A Dog’s World

Princess Peanut

Princess Peanut

GarfieldLg

Along with the Sunday Times articles comes the Sunday Comics. And I always look for my favorites… Marmaduke, Mutts, Garfield, Peanuts, and so on.

Marmaduke - ma151025comb_hs.tif

i060801marmAnd this month was an ode to the creator of Marmaduke, Brad Anderson, who passed away at age 91 in August 2015.
My Grandpa and I always look at that comic strip. We especially like the comics with Marm’s girlfriend, a Poodle (my dog is a Poodle).

And so, here is my ode… to Dogs. Peanut is the 5th dog in my life. I have always loved dogs. Two of the dogs my family and I had were stray mutts (the perfect kinds by the way). The others were from family and friends. Never from pet farms.

MV5BMTc5MTg2MTExMF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDA1MTA3NDE@._V1__SX954_SY606_
I have watched and read a huge amount of stuff that has dogs as one of the main characters (or large staring role). In November, my family and I are really looking forward to seeing the Peanuts movie.

So for my favorites…

Movie Dogs: Snoopy (from Peanuts), Toto (from Wizard of Oz), Marmaduke, Lady and the Tramp, 101 Dalmatians, Hooch (from Turner and Hooch), Beethoven (the St. Bernard puppy in Beethoven) and Skip (from My Dog Skip)

Book Dogs: I have a lot of books with dogs in them. A LOT! Ribsy by Beverly Cleary was my first books with a dog in it. And Harold (from Bunnicula by Deborah Howe, James Howe) was my first favorite dog that spoke to the reader.

515MBTEMKYL._SX335_BO1,204,203,200_ 51uFciBRChL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_

My new favorite dogs in books are Zeus (Logan’s extraordinarily well-trained German Shepard in The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks. I read the book before the movie). Chet (an average big black mutt dog in the Chet and Bernie Mystery series)

And other favorites and To-Be-Read are on this list… Shelfari Best of: A Dog’s World Books Read and To-Be-Read.

And with that, I’ll leave you with Mutts.

Mutts2

This entry was posted in Best Of, Books, Dogs, movie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

