Books

Adult Fiction

DSC01479A Shelfari group (Play Book Tag) that I’m in has chosen November’s tag. It’s Adult Fiction. And according to my Shelfari bookshelf and tags, I’ve fot over 2,000 books tagged Adult Fiction (there’s probably more as I have over 5,000 books on the Shelfari bookshelf). And out of all those books, over 900 of them are books I own (a huge chunk of them is on my kindle).

And so what is Adult Fiction? Some people in the Play Book Tag group thought it was just erotica and romance stuff. But even Harry Potter books has an Adult tag to it (Adult, adult fantasy, etc). Shelfari shows that there are over 10,000 Adult Fiction tags. When I filter that with my M and M tag, it’s down to over 2,000 for me. But on the first page of all those tags, is authors like E.L. James, Stephen King (Under the Dome), Kathryn Stockett (The Help), Gregory Maguire (Wicked), Audrey Niffenegger (Her Fearful Symmetry), Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl), Sara Gruen (Water for Elephants), Max Brooks (World War Z), Nicholas Sparks (Safe Haven), J. K. Rowling (Casual Vacancy), Chuck Hogan, Guillermo del Toro (The Strain), Justin Cronin (The Passage), Jonathan Franzen (Freedom) and Jodi Picoult (Nineteen Minutes). A lot of those authors are on my To-Be-Read list.

I think what makes it an Adult Fiction is the characters and the writing’s maturity level. It does not have to be an Adult book just because of the sex and language content (E.L. James, but I wouldn’t consider her books mature.) As for Harry Potter books being an Adult book, well, no they aren’t really. But these books are much like some of the few other Young Adult books where the audience age is open to all.

MV5BMTkyNDgzOTcwNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTk4MDI1NTE@._V1_SY317_CR4,0,214,317_AL_
And then there’s J.K. Rowling’s Adult books, Casual Vacancy and her Cormoran Strike series. Rowling has even stated that these books are not for the younger readers. Especially Casual Vacancy. I still haven’t read that book yet. And I just might chose that for November. But I did see the Mini-series movie staring Michael Gambon (a much hated character in Casual, but Michael was a much loved Dumbledore).

Now, it’s just a matter of what to read for the group in November. There’s too many choices. Casual Vacancy could be one. But then I’ve also got a ton of library books to sort through first. A lot of the library books that I’ve already checked out would qualify for this tag. But there’s just so many to choose from.

Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Adult Fiction

Leave a Reply

