This is Halloween 2015

Everybody hail to the Pumpkin King.

Happy Halloween.

Lately it seems to me that I’ve been watching 4 movies every Halloween: Harry Potter and the Scorcerer’s , Addams Family and The Nightmare Before Christmas. And of course, It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown. So here’s a little review for those movies.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (2001 Directed by Chris Columbus) (The Short Short Short Synopsis: 11 year old Harry Potter finds out that he’s a Wizard. Starts school at Hogwarts. There he faces school enemies and makes friends. And of course, every hero needs a villain, and that’s Vildermort.)
The first time I watched this, I hadn’t read the books yet. I enjoyed this movie and read the books. I have been a Potter Fan ever since.
My review for this book.

The Addams Family (1991 Directed by Barry Sonenfeld)
(The Short Short Short Synopsis: based off the tv show. IMDb.com says it’s about a Con artists plan to fleece the eccentric family using an accomplice who claims to be their long lost Uncle Fester)
I saw this when it first came out on vhs (old school, I know). My favorite characters were Morticia and Wednesday. Still good stuff.

The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993 Directed by Tim Burton) (The Short Short Synopsis: Jack the Pumpkin King from Halloweenland is tired of the same old thing. So he decides to hijack Christmas.)
A fun Tim Burton film. My first Burton film was either Batman or Beatlejuice, I can’t remember. Nightmare Before Christmas is my favorite. Halloween and Christmas, my two favorite holidays in one movie. What fun.

It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown (1966 Directed by Bill Melendez) (The Short Short Synopsis: It’s Halloween time for the Peanut’s Gang)
A classic. Love Snoopy and the rest of the gang.

And that’s all folks for movies. As for books.. well I’m in the middle on MacbethLord’s of Salem by Rob Zombie and also Northanger Abbey by Val McDermid. And then there’s all these children books that I’ve been reading to my 5 year old niece (who will be Cinderella tonight): Charlie Brown It’s the Great Pumpkin (of course), 20th Anniversary edition of The Nightmare Before Christmas book, Lulu Goes to Witch School, Dora’s Halloween, and the Berenstain Bears Ghost Walk. All fun books.

1446326165328579784624

Tonight’s Trick or Treating was fun. I was a Cinderella’s Fairy Godmother. Cinderella (my 5 year old niece) got a lot of candy. So much that she said “ok that’s enough for now.”

My youngest sister’s family (my 3 yo niece and 1 1/2 yo nephew) already had their Halloween when I woke up this morning. They live in Abu Dhabi (UAE) where Halloween is new there. All 4 members were all dressed up as Star Wars (sis was Princess Leah, bro-in-law was Han Solo, niece was Darth Vader and nephew was supposed to be Yoda but he was happy with just the light saber toy).

After they went Trick-or-Treating, bro took my niece for a walk to burn off the sugar high. She ended up collecting an entire bag of candy wrapper and trash on her own accord. She said that people just aren’t very “Princess-y.”

So after this huge crowd of Trick-or-Treaters, I will go around my neighborhood to collect the trash that they’ve left (already saw some when I took my niece Trick-or-Treating). Maybe other people can too.

So please, pick up your trash. Thanks.

This entry was posted in Best Of, Books, Harry Potter, Holidays, movie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

