Artist Spotlight · Best Of · Books · Monthly Recap · movie · Music

November Artist Spotlight

My Artist Spotlight for November

I came up with this idea for a monthly Artist focus thanks to the Turner Classic channel (TCM). Their star of the month is Norma Shearer. Now there’s no way that I can focus on just one artist, so I’ve chosen three. Each artist will represent a different art medium: Films, Books and Music. I’ve added music because I am sometimes able to pin what songs are playing in movies. And I always seem to make a soundtrack for the books that I read.

Maureen O’Hara

360px-Maureen_O'Hara_1947_2

There is two reasons why I chose Maureen for November. The first is because it’s Thanksgiving for us Americans in November. Thanksgiving, for me, is a time to be thankful for the things that I have and that’s family and friends. My family has a bog Irish heritage. And Maureen O’Hara is Irish-American, just like my family.

The second reason is to pay tribute to her because she passed away on October 24th, 2015. She was 91 years old and made over 50 films. Hollywood gave her the nickname “The Queen of Technicolor.”

My first Maureen movie was Miracle on 34th Street. I watched that when I was a kid and loved it. And The Parent Trap is another favorite. I’m not sure what other movies I’ve seen her in. Just scrolling through her filmography in Wiki and it’s just so many movies. So I’ll be watching some of her films TCM will show in this month and I promise to review them.

Cecelia Ahern

author-photo-3-e1412572216659

Sticking with the Irish theme here, I’ve chosen Cecelia for the Author Spotlight. There actually wasn’t that many from my T0-Be-Read list of Irish Authors. If you’re are not familiar with her, then maybe you might know her movies – P.S. I Love You (2007 film stars Gerard Butler and Hilary Swank) and Love, Rosie (2014 film stars Lily Collins and Sam Claflin)

I have read two of Cecelia’s books and loved them. Where Raibows End (a.k.a Love, Rosie) is my favorite. Here’s my review. There’s No Place Like Home was different and didn’t have any romance like I was hoping, but I non the less enjoyed it. Her books so far are original stuff I think and I’m looking forward to reading more.

Glen Hansard

Glen-Hansard

There’s a few Irish bands that I like. I like Glen because of his angst singing and the great songs to chose from. He’s been in 2 bands (The Frames and The Swell Season) and has 2 solo albums.

I admit that I only found Glen because of the great movie Once (2006 film starring Glen and Markรฉta Irglovรก,). I was thrilled when their song, “Falling Slowly“, won the Academy Award for Best Song.

My favorite song is Revelate by The Frames.

One thought on “November Artist Spotlight

Leave a Reply

