Artist Spotlight · Best Of · Books · Favorites · movie · TCM · Wednesday

Southern Writers Wednesdays

spotlightsouthernwriters_apt_678x230_102720151218In October, Turner Classic channel had Trailblazing Women on Tuesday and Thursday. And now they are featuring Southern Writers Wednesdays. There is a lot of good movies that they’ll be airing on Wednesdays that I’m looking forward to reading. Tonight on 8pm Central Time is The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, 1939 film staring Mickey Rooney as Huckleberry Finn. But I’m really looking forward to rewatching To Kill A Mockingbird, 1962 film staring Gregory Peck. TCM is airing that on Nov 11 and Nov 28.

Southern Writers Wednesdays

566874Sarah Addison Allen

My Souther Writer for this Wednesday would be Sarah Addison Allen. I’ve read 3 of her books so far. Lost Lake and it’s novella Waking Kate. The first book I read was The Peach Keeper (my review). I picked Peach Keeper for #6 in Best of 2014 Books I Read.

She’s published 6 books and 1 novella. The book I’m looking forward to reading very soon is Garden Spells. And then First Frost. I’m curious as to what the Waverley’s are up to. They had a little cameo in The Peach Keeper and it had me intrigued.

I really like her writing. So far, the books I’ve read have a Magical Realism style to them. And they all seemed to be based in the Southern States of America: North Carolina and Georgia.

Sarah is grew up in North Carolina and her descriptions of the places in her books are good. They almost have me wanting to visit them.

On Facebook, Sarah said “Most of my paperbacks have come with new content…like the deleted scenes in The Sugar Queen and Lost Lake paperbacks, and the recipes in The Girl Who Chased the Moon paperback!”

I have most of her books on Kindle, so if those aren’t updated also, then I’ll just look at the paperbacks either at the store without buying it again, or the library.

Untitled

FirstFrost_RecipeCard_8x5 Garden+Spells+Quote saaquote

Leave a Reply

