Artist Spotlight · Books · Favorites · Holidays · movie · Navy · TCM · Wednesday

Southern Writers and Veteran’s Day

Veteran’s Day

Veteran’s Day means a little something to me because I have a lot of family members that was in the military. My Great Grandmother’s brother, Noel (who died in World War 1) has a Veteran’s Foreign League Club named after him in Nebraska, US.

1447292096233474941965

We found out after we looked through some old family papers and photos stored in boxes. We also were able to trace back an ancestor who was an officer of the Union Party during the US Civil War.

My Dad was in the Army. His dad was in the Navy. My Mom’s oldest brother was in the Marines.

I am pretty sure that I am the first female in our family to be in the military. I gave a post about it earlier, so I won’t bore my subscribers here. I was in the Navy from 2003 to 2007 as a Gunner’s Mate.

And Southern Writers

spotlightsouthernwriters_apt_678x230_102720151218

Turner Classic Movie channel is doing a Southern Writers theme on Wednesday. Tonight they’re showing To Kill a Mockingbird.

For my Southern Writer, I thought of something that would fit both Southern Fiction and Military Veterans for today. And there’s nothing classic than Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell.

TCM showed the movie last week. I haven’t watched that movie from start to finish. But I have since bits and pieces from it. The movie is over 3 hours long, so I’ll probably watch it when I have the time. But this year it doesn’t look like it.

I haven’t read the book either. But it is on my To-Be-Read list, and also a Long-Book-to-Read Challenge because it’s over 800 pages long.

2 thoughts on “Southern Writers and Veteran’s Day

  1. The good thing about Gone With the Wind is it has an intermission about halfway through the film, giving you a good breaking point. I was fortunate to see it on the big screen a few years ago during a revival/restoration and it was fun to see it there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

