Best Of · Classic · Favorites · James Bond · movie · Music

James Bond Theme Song Intros, Part 1

fe09913fa28f578c6dda928021842c21

James Bond Theme Song Intros, Part 1

I have seen a few of the old James Bonds and a lot of the newer Bonds. What I like the most is the Opening Theme Credits. That’s the first thing I look forward to before I watch the movies.

Even the Academy Awards gave a tribute to the music during James Bond’s 50th Anniversary in 2012.

I am going to explore ALL 24 Title Theme Songs for James Bond. I thought about doing this as I wait impatiently for my chance to see Spectre.

Because there is 24 James Bond films, I am going to break this up according with their decades. I will give some little opinion of my own. And comments on the movie, if I have seen it.

And without further ado, here’s the first decade…

The 1960s

The “Swinging Sixties” era, during wars and a cultural and civil freedom, and the music booming with The Beatles, Woodstock and a whole lot of other big name artists. And Love. A Whole lot of love and peace, baby.

Oh and 6 James Bond Movies.


Dr No 1962.

Staring Sean Connery (the original James Bond), and Ursula Andress as Honey Ryder (the first Bond Girl). And the villain: Joseph Wiseman as Dr. No: Main antagonist and a reclusive member of SPECTRE.

When I first saw the movie, I thought the opening credits was cute. And I know cute isn’t something to be used when talking about James Bond. I thought the movie was pretty good. And I really liked Sean Connery as James Bond.
Watching the video now, the first thing that I thought of was those first generation video games. And also learned that this is the first and only James Bond movie with 2 opening theme songs.

James Bond Theme by Monty Norman.
And…
Byron Lee And The Dragonaires – Kingston Calypso (Three Blind Mice).


From Russia with Love 1963.

Staring Sean Connery as James Bond. And his nemesis is SPECTRE agents seeking revenge for Dr. No’s death. And SPECTRE leader, Ernst Stavro Blofeld‘s first appearance.

I haven’t seen this movie. Yet.

I don’t like the opening credits. Just a woman shaking her body with the credits going by. I guess this was ok for those that wanted to use it to help trip on some drugs.

Opening Titles: “James Bond Is Back” by John Barry, Lionel Bart, Monty Norman. Performed by John Barry (title sequence). Matt Monro (vocal version heard in film proper and during closing credits)


Goldfinger 1964.

Staring Sean Connery as James Bond again. And Honor Blackman as Pussy Galore.

I’ve seen parts of this movie. What I remember the most is the golden woman that was lying naked (Jill).

I like the opening credits. This one actually shows a good video that gives a good James Bond Theme. And Shirley is great!

“Goldfinger”: Composed by Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley, John Barry. Performed by Shirley Bassey.


Thunderball 1965.

Still starring Sean Connery as James Bond. The SPECTRE group is back.

I haven’t seen the movie, yet. And the video is just ok.

“Thunderball”: Composed by John Barry and Don Black. Performed by Tom Jones


You Only Live Twice 1967.

Stars Sean Connery as James Bond. And his nemesis is Ernst Stavro Blofeld, the head of SPECTRE.

I haven’t seen the movie, yet. Liked the video and Nancy Sinatra’s Title Song is good. The very beginning of the video (Sean bleeding on the bed) has me intrigued.

“You Only Live Twice”: Composed by Leslie Bricusse and John Barry. Performed by Nancy Sinatra


On Her Majesty’s Secret Service 1969.

Stars George Lazenby as James Bond. And Ernst Stavro Blofeld, the head of SPECTRE is still his nemesis.

I haven’t seen the movie, yet. The video looks like a Playboy psychedelic trip.

“On Her Majesty’s Secret Service”: Composed by John Barry, and Hal David. Performed by The John Barry Orchestra.
We Have All the Time in the World” (Alternate Secondary Theme Song): Composed by John Barry, and Hal David. Performed by Louis Armstrong.


And that’s the 1960s.

These are the opening Title Songs and Credit Themes. Some have me looking forward to watching the movie just thanks to them. There’s a reason why the film makers should invest in a good opening credit. It’s so that we look forward to investing in the time to watch the movie. If they can’t invest in it, then why should we?

9 thoughts on “James Bond Theme Song Intros, Part 1

  1. Awesome! I’m a huge Bond fan and I always anticipate the opening credits, they’re a Bond movie signature. For the 60’s, Shirley Bassey’s Goldfinger was by far the best! Her vocals were flawless and truly built the anticipation for the film.Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

