Artist Spotlight · Best Of · Books · Classic · Favorites · movie · TCM · Wednesday

Southern Writers Wednesday Nov 18

spotlightsouthernwriters_apt_678x230_102720151218

Southern Writers Wednesday

Turner Classic is airing In Cold Blood and A Streetcar Named Desire tonight.

And with In Cold Blood, I thought of making tonight’s post with Southern Fiction with some sort of crime story to it. And I’ll be making a list of books I read and liked…

Southern Fiction Crimes

The Pelican Brief by John Grisham (settings: New York, suburban Georgetown, and Washington, D. C.). I read this after seeing the movie. I liked the movie and I thought I knew what to expect from the book. The book ended up being a little more of a thriller and suspenseful than the movie.

Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer (settings: Keyes, South Carolina and Savannah). Hilarious book. My Grandpa and I both liked the heroine.

The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen (setting: Walls of Water, North Carolina). My first Sarah book. I loved the book. I thought her writing is good. I really liked the characters in this book. There is a scandalous crime in this. And it had just a hint of some magical realism.

Sneaky Pie for President: A Novel by Rita Mae Brown (setting: Virginia). The first Sneaky Pie book that I’ve read. It was funny. This book didn’t have any crime or mystery per say. But according to the cat, the way humans treats animals is a crime. That’s why she wants to run for President.

Leave a Reply

