Best Of · Books · Favorites · Meet n Greet · Tags · Wednesday

The TBR Book Tag

DSCN0294
The TBR Book Tag

I was tagged by Jane @Greenish Bookshelf for this tag. I have a huge To-Be-Read list. That picture is my physical bookshelf. And yes, there is books behind the books on this shelf.


How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

51mtCj727qL._SX340_BO1,204,203,200_

I started keeping track with a book journal called Books to Check Out: A Journal.

Now I’ve been keeping track mostly thanks to Shelfari.com

I’ve really enjoyed using the Shelfari site because I’ve been able to keep track more of the books I’ve read and when using a much better timeline graph than Goodreads can. For me at least.

And very sometimes with the help of Goodreads. I’ve only been using that now because of my new Kindle HD 6″ Fire.

Is your TBR mostly print or eBook?

I used physical print books for the longest time. And then in 2012, my sister gave me my first Kindle for Christmas. Since then, I think I have more eBooks than the physical books. Especially now since I’ve been getting books from Netgalley.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

I try to read the books that have been on my TBR list the longest. Other times it’s just a “new” and “shiney” book. Or other times it’s a book that I found from the city/county physical library or from Overdrive.com county library books.
And also if it’s been made into a movie.

A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest?

Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk (This has been on my Chuck books TBR list the most, and I keep saying that I’ll read it. I got the paperback first, and it’s a very strange one. It glows in the dark, so to have this on my nightstand book collection at night is a little spooky. And then I got the iTunes audio last year. So now I really don’t have any excuses now).
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë (I don’t recall if I’ve read this or not. I feel that I did read it in my teens, but I don’t remember that much of the book. I’ve seen a few versions of the movie. Including the recent one with Michael Fassbender – LOVED it!!)
A Sicilian Romance by Ann Radcliffe (I read The Italian and loved it. And then bought Ann’s other two books. So really both of them have been on my TBR for over 10 years now.)
Jemima J by Jane Green (I think I read it, but I don’t recall most of the book).

A book you recently added to your TBR?

5142z3MBgUL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

The Dinner by Herman Koch, thanks to Blogging for Books for the free paperback.

A book on your TBR strictly because of it’s beautiful cover?

An Affair to Dismember by Elise Sax (the men!!)
The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein (I love dogs!!)

17878931-228x350

And I read the Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard just because of that cover too.

Harper Connelly series by by Charlaine Harris (because I want to give one of Charlaine’s books a try and because I like the covers of the books in this series).
Flavia de Luce series by Alan C. Bradley (I don’t often read mystery books but I added this series just because of the cover).
The Sleuth Sisters by Maggie Pill (because of the shoes!!).

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

51t54wtqRVL._SX299_BO1,204,203,200_

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery

I generally try not to add a book that I don’t have any intention in reading.
Anne of Green Gables is a book that I was forced to read when I was in my teens (many moons ago). I tried reading it but got bored with, and then just stuck it on my TBR with no thought of reading it… but now that I’m decades older, I’m going to give Ann of Green Gables a try soon…

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

Yuki Chan in Brontë Country (Jan 21, 2016) by Mick Jackson (but I already have that from Netgalley)
Glass Sword (February 9, 2016) by Victoria Aveyard (I don’t often read series books that don’t have the entire series released yet. I read the first book of the Red Queen without realizing that the others haven’t been written yet. And now I’m a little bit anticipating the second book because I’m curious as to where the author’s taking this story to).

And any other books that I might find…

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?

From the 1001 Books to Read Before I Die list: Atonement by Ian McEwan, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, and Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (was even given a Netgalley copy).

Award Winners: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, and Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

From my TBR: The Martian by Andy Weir, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, and The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

2429135

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson is the number one book that my family and friends have all recommended to me, and a lot of my close family members seems to have read but me.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

24820165

See Me by Nicholas Sparks (or Dear John, or The Best of Me, or…) (I’ve read The Lucky One, The Longest Ride and Nights of Rodanthe. I liked Lucky One and LOVED! The Longest Ride).

51aVp47rOtL._SX342_BO1,204,203,200_

And All Together Now by Gill Hornby (Nick Hornby’s sister)

How many books are on your Shelfari TBR shelf?

4,939 books on my Shelfari TBR list. I know. It’s a lot. And I’ve still been adding more.


This turned out to be a fun and somewhat helpful tag (helped me edit some books on my list).

So I will tag everyone to try this tag.

And if you want me to check out your tbr tag, then leave me a comment and I’d love to take a look.

One thought on “The TBR Book Tag

  1. Yay! Thanks for doing the tag! I will have to check out shelfari for keeping track of my TBR pile. I recommend The Night Circus and Jane Eyre!! They are both fabulous (I only read them both this year so I’m not too far ahead of you).

    I want to read Eleanor and Park and The Martian (which I hear is a great movie as well!).

    And I hope you give Anne of Green Gables another try 🙂 It’s one of my favorite classics that I just keep reading over and over. If you’re interested, here’s my recent review of it: https://greenishbookshelf.wordpress.com/2015/11/12/a-favorite-classic-anne-of-green-gables-a-review2/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

