Letters From Home Soundtrack

With most books that I read, I like to listen to music in the background. And also, some books just reminds me of songs or music genres.

When I was reading Millie’s Fling by Jill Mansell, I created a British theme soundtrack. It was fun doing that, and even helped me get in the Brit-Lit mood.

Letters From Home

Now I’m reading a historical fiction book. I don’t often read historical fiction, and I’ve noticed that the ones I’ve read lately have turned out to be gems (The Book Thief being the cut above – read this year).

Letters From Home by Kristina McMorris is becoming one of those gems. I’m over 30% into the story and I’m really liking it. I don’t want to stop reading it, but I have to in order to get a move on with some pre-holiday-house-cleaning and let alone the daily stuff.

The Music Soundtrack for Letters From Home


Top Song (and quote)

Letters Home from the Garden of Stone by Everlast

A December 2007 single. It was offered for free from martyr-inc.com. The song is from Love, War and The Ghost of Whitey Ford album.

Please forgive me, Morgan pleaded, eyes raised upward. It was then, in the numbing silence, when he finally dared wonder: Were prayers of murderers, when fighting on the “right side” of the war, ever heard— let alone answered?

From: Letters From Home by Kristina McMorris


1944

The book timeline setting is World War 2 in 1944.

Cover Girl

“I’m heading out, girls. Either one of you want to join me and Dot for a triple feature? The Tivoli’s playing Cover Girl again.”

Ah, yes. Hollywood’s cure-all for the perpetually glum. A perfect example of why talkies weren’t always better than the silent pictures. At least in Casablanca the tragic ending was scripted out of realism, and the stars didn’t belt out lines in melodramatic show tunes.

From: Letters From Home by Kristina McMorris


La vie en Rose by Edith Piaf

The first place that is mentioned that Morgan (and his brother Charlie) go to fight in Europe is France. I thought of Edith Piaf.


My generation

I was in the US Navy from 2003 to 2007.

Within A Mile Of Home by Flogging Molly

I did 3 deployments during my service in the Navy. During those days, when we were out in the middle of nowhere in the ocean for days and days and days, with nothing to see but the sky and the ocean everywhere, I did become homesick. Calling my mom or getting emails and care packages was a treat that brought a lot of nostalgia.

This song gave me some nostalgia during those deployments.


Hometown Glory by Adele

Some evenings over here while camped in a pasture there have been moments I almost believed I was back on our farm . And for a few seconds I get the old feeling of relaxing on a tractor at the day’s end, with the engine off and my head laid back, just taking it all in.

From: Letters From Home book.


The Moon by The Swell Season

The moon is up, and yet it is not night;
Sunset divides the sky with her — a sea
Of glory streams along the Alpine height
Of blue Friuli’s mountains; Heaven is free
From clouds, but of all colours seems to be
Melted to one vast Iris of the West,
Where the day joins the past eternity.

Lord Byron from: Letters From Home
(Morgan and Liz writing about the sun and moon from where they are)


Angel Standing By – Jewel

This song plays both a lullaby and a sort of hope that there are Angels watching out for us. I thought of this song a lot when I was in the Navy. And now, when I’m reading this book, it seems that Morgan needs this hope too.


I Will Wait by Mumford & Sons

A lot of the characters seem to be waiting for their true loves.



Letters From Home by Kristina McMorris is set in the Fall season of 1944 in both America and in Europe (France and Belgium so far). I think the description and timeline writing is pretty good.

There is 4 characters point of view. And I am liking all of the characters. It is normally hard for me to keep track of multiple character point of views, but this has been going pretty study.
Elizabeth “Liz” Stephens is a college student who is engaged to a politician’s son.
Julia “Jules” Renard college student engaged to a Navy sailor.
Betty Cordell joined the Women’s Army Volunteers (a WAC).
Morgan “Mac” McClain is in the Army fighting in Europe with his brother Charlie (Mac joined to try to protect his brother).

This entry was posted in Best Of, Books, Favorites, Music, Navy, Soundtracks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Letters From Home Soundtrack

  1. Pingback: The 2015 Book-ademy Awards Book Tag | Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

  2. Pingback: Throwback Thursdays Books of 2015 | Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Leave a Reply

