Books · Tuesdays

TBR Tuesday

TBR

TBR Tuesday

I’m catching up on some books that I’ve been trying to read since October. I’ve got two picks to choose from.

So please, please, please, please, I’m begging you readers… give me advise. If you’ve read either, let me know what you thought. Please tell me your thoughts, even if you haven’t read any of the books. I’d love to hear them.

DSCN0312

Northanger Abbey by Val McDermid

In Northanger Abbey, [Val] delivers her own, witty, updated take on Austenโ€™s classic novel about a young woman whose visit to the stately home of a well-to-do acquaintance stirs her most macabre imaginings, with an extra frisson of suspense that only McDermid could provide.
Amazon

  • 100 Pages left to read
  • Hardcover physical paper book
  • No distractions from other apps, games, and stuff like that on the kindle
  • I don’t often read a Hardcover that much anymore, let alone paper, and I’ve caught myself trying to drag the page over like I would on my kindle.
  • It’s a library book.
  • I am liking the story.
  • It’s a Jane Austen satire, and I love Jane Austen.

VS

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowdโ€” whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herselfโ€” Patrick Ness has spun a haunting and darkly funny novel of mischief, loss, and monsters both real and imagined.
Amazon

A Monster Calls Patrick Ness

  • 24% into the story.
  • According to the kindle, and my reading speed, I’ve got 3 Hours and 31 Minutes left of reading time.
  • It’s on my kindle, so if I get bored or want to procrastinate finishing this, I could always look on the Net, or play a game (Candy Crush sounds good right about now… just waiting for some more lives).
  • I’m liking the story so far.
  • Some of the grammar is a little incorrect at times, so it’s a little hard to read through. Did the author do this to make us think like a 13 year old? If so it’s a little difficult.

Please tell me your thoughts…

3 thoughts on “TBR Tuesday

  1. I love Jane Austen, too, but I vote in for A Monster Calls. I just finished reading Patrick Ness’ The Knife of Never Letting Go and really enjoyed it. In that book he also did the grammar thing you’re talking about, but after a while I didn’t notice it anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

