Artist Spotlight · Best Of · Books · Classic · Favorites · Holidays · movie · Music

December Artist Spotlight

frank sinatra spotlight

I suspect that Turner Classic Movie channel (TCM) is doing Frankie for their spotlight because of his 100th anniversary. I like Frank Sinatra, but I’ll be picking my own Star of the Month.

My Artist Spotlight for December

This is my 3rd Artist Spotlight of the Month. October‘s was my first one, and that was fun to make. November was more to fit my mood. And December, well I love Christmas and all things Winter, so that’s what the artists will best fit with.

James Stewart

shop around the corner

The Actor Artist Spotlight is James Stewart. Jimmie, with his 100 or so films, has a couple Christmas movies that are my favorite. Of course there’s the ever popular, It’s a Wonderful Life. I do like that one. He acted really good and the story is pretty nice.

But my #1 favorite is The Shop Around the Corner, a 1940 movie staring James Stewart, Margaret Sullavan, Frank Morgan (The Great OZ). You all might know of the remake, staring Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks, called You’ve Got Mail. I like that movie too. Until a couple years ago when I saw Shop Around the Corner that is. Tom Hanks tried to do the posh, but sweet and dreamy guy, but now that I’ve seen this movie, James Stewart does it better.

tumblr_me8m44gIvK1qbsjqno1_r2_500


Jean Shepherd

A Chritmas Story

The Author Artist Spotlight was a tough one for me. I was going to pick Debbie Macomber because she’s written a lot of Christmas themed books, and some (including her newest book) have made the Hallmark Christmas movies cut. I’ve read a lot of her Christmas books, and I’ll be reading her newest one this month.

But the cake goes to Jean Shepherd, for making mine and my family’s Christmas movie viewings nostalgic.

Jean is best known for the film, A Christmas Story, which is based on his book, In God We Trust: All Others Pay Cash.

I haven’t read the book yet, but it is on my TBR plan for this month. I’ve listened to some of his radio shows, and liked them. His Christmas Story show is my favorite, of course.


The Music Spotlight

Picking just one Music Artist for December isn’t going to be enough for me. So I’m going to making a Christmas Music Soundtrack.

Will Ferrell and Zooey Deschanel, from the movie, Elf.

Carol of the Bells (Home Alone style)

Little Drummer Boy (Joan Jett style)

Adam Sandler‘s Chanukah Song: for a good laugh (even if you’re not Jewish).

And the ever classic, “White Christmas” 1954 Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney, and Vera-Ellen.

2 thoughts on “December Artist Spotlight

Leave a Reply

