Artist Spotlight · Best Of · Books · Classic · Favorites · Mondays · movie · TCM

Monday Friendship Books

girlfriends spotlight

Each Monday night in December TCM presents two double features focusing on feminine relationships and hosted by Tiffany Vazquez of New York City, winner of our TCM Ultimate Fan contest and part of the 20th Anniversary Fan Guest Programmers.
TCM Girlfriends Monday Spotlight

Monday Friendships

(btw, I know that it isn’t Monday, but this is a new TCM theme. So… I’ll probably do coming of age friendships again next week, probably of books on my tbr…)

Since I’ve started this blog, I’ve been a couple of TCM’s themes (Spotlight Artists, Silent Sunday Nights, and so on). December’s theme is a little different. Tonight’s theme is Girlfriends Coming of Age. Now TCM already has the movies down pact. I thought I’d pick through some books that I’ve read that kind of fits that category, but they won’t be just girl/ girl friendships. I’ll be picking at all friendships in general.

So here’s the books for Friendships Coming of Age

(In random order here)…

4272469acc097788fd9a28ddc4bb212d

(01.) Hermione Granger and Ginny Weasley in the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. They are both strong female characters in this series.

(02.) August “Auggie” Pullman and Summer Dawson in Wonder by R. J. Palacio. Summer is a great heroine in this book.

(03.) Emma Woodhouse and Jane Fairfax in Emma by Jane Austen. I had to add a Jane Austen book.

(04.) Leo and Jack Pepper (a dog) in Hero by Sarah Lean. My dog probably would give me the cold shoulder if I didn’t add one of friendships between a kid and his dog. This is a recent book I read, and I thought it was good.

(05.) Jess Aaron and Leslie Burke in Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson. If you haven’t read this book, I think it’s a must (and the movie doesn’t count IMO).

(06.) Conor O’Malley and Lillian Andrews in A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

(07.) The entire gang of The Baby-sitters Club. The series is by Ann M. Martin.

beezus-and-ramona-cover-image

(08.) Beezus (Beatrice) Quimby and Ramona Geraldine Quimby in  Beezus and Ramona by Beverly Cleary, because there’s no other greater friendship than the one with your siblings. At least, in my experience, sisters are the best friends. Even if there’s some fights in between, we still love each other.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott came in second for sibling friendships.

7317dca74976d228f4f7ad811e2a9347

One thought on “Monday Friendship Books

Leave a Reply

