Favorites · movie · Music · My Dream Guy · Old Reviews · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday Dec 3

tbt throwback thursday cassette

Throwback Thursday

Throwback Movie Review

An old movie review here. This movie had a lot of nostalgia for me, so that’s why I’m picking this for a Throwback Movie Review. So here’s a OLD review from October 2014.

(IMDb Short Synopis: Two feuding rock stars get handcuffed together for 24 hours at a music festival where they are both due to perform.)

tonight youre mine

Tonight You’re Mine 4.5★♥

Let me first say, Natalia Tena – Tonks from Harry Potter!!! I didn’t recognize her straight away. But I loved her in this. I’ve watched it twice so far this week.

This is a British independent movie called You Instead (US title changed it to Tonight You’re Mine. The premise stated that it takes part within 5 days at a music festival at T in the Park (a real festival in Scotland). It does feel like it goes through 5 days time, but actually only 2 days. It’s written by Thomas Leveritt and directed by David Mackenzie. The film stars Luke Treadaway and Natalia Tena. It really shows the festival quite good (or as much as they could in 80 minutes). I loved how Adam (Luke Treadaway) and Morello (Natalia Tena) meet and greet the brothers from The Proclaimers just before the guys went on stage to perform. Really liked how they showed part of The Proclaimers performance to “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles).”

So as you can see, Tonight You’re Mine is a music film with a plot. Adam (Treadaway) is in a two-man-band called The Make. They’re a pretty popular band. Morello (Natalia) is the keyboard player for the all-girls-band The Dirty Pinks – whom Adam and his band buddy, Tyko, nicknamed “The Vaginas.” Adam and Morello fight from the start and are handcuffed together by “The Prophet” for fighting. They will predictably get dumped by those they’re dating and then fall in love with each other by the end. That’s not much of a spoiler because I saw that coming the moment the two started fighting at the beginning.

This would be a perfect romantic comedy movie if it weren’t for the vulgar Bobby (The Make’s manager). I think they focused on him a little too much. And no matter what, he wasn’t likable for me. Especially when he was beyond drunk.

Other than Bobby, this movie reminded me of all the music festivals and concerts I’ve been to. The biggest one being The San Diego’s Street Scene – a 3 day street festival. It was a pretty big festival with about a dozen bands that I recall watching. It in no way compares to the T in the Park, which looked like a Woodstock festival. But it’s great to see a film that captures the music and crowd like this film.


Like I said this movie had me reminiscing of the music festivals and concerts I’ve been to. So I’ve looked to see who performed for the Street Scene in San Diego and I learned that after 25 years, the festival is no more. Such a shame because I would’ve tried to talk my sisters into going with me again. We went together in 2003, right after my first deployment in the Navy. The festival had no sleeping area, so I stayed on my ship and my sisters at a hotel. The weekend is a bit of a blur but I loved it!

Here’s the venue from 2003…
Street Scene (San Diego music festival)

(Bands I remember seeing here are in bold)

Social Distortion, 311, R.E.M., Pennywise, X, Greg Ginn of Black Flag, Mix Master Mike, Bone Thugs-n-Harmony, The Distillers, The Doors of the 21st Century, Goo Goo Dolls, Concrete Blonde, Arthur Lee & Love, Dragons, Ozomatli, Michael Franti & Spearhead, De La Soul, All Mighty Senators, Sex Pistols, Cypress Hill, G. Love & Special Sauce, Slightly Stoopid, Arrested Development, John Butler Trio, Pepper, The Allman Brothers Band, The B-52s, Yonder Mountain String Band, Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe, Buckwheat Zydeco, The Wild Magnolias, Café Tacuba, Kinky, Cheb I Sabbah, Karsh Kale, Radio Mundial, Little George Sueref & The Blue Stars with Lazy Lester, Louisiana Red, Macy Gray, Nickel Creek, Wilco, Switchfoot, The Subdudes, Bad Religion, Finch, Flogging Molly, Living Legends, The Reverend Horton Heat, Burning Spear, The Skatalites, Eek-A-Mouse, and Kathleen Edwards.

Leave a Reply

