Best Of · Favorites · movie · Old Reviews · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday Dec 10

tbt throwback thursday cassette

Throwback Thursday

An old movie review

Movie review from August 2014.

Malèna (2000 Italian Film) (Academy Award Nominees in 2001).

Director: Giuseppe Tornatore
Writers: Giuseppe Tornatore (screenplay), Luciano Vincenzoni (original story)
Stars: Monica Bellucci, Giuseppe Sulfaro, Luciano Federico.

The Short Synopsis: A woman provokes sensual awakenings in a group of adolescent boys.

[last lines]
Renato Amoroso: I pedaled as fast as I could… as if I were escaping from longing, from innocence, from her. Time has passed, and I have loved many women. And as they’ve held me close… and asked if I will remember them I’ve said, “Yes, I will remember you.” But the only one I’ve never forgotten is the one who never asked… Malena.

The Throwback Review from Aug 2014:

Malena-poster-1

Malèna 4★

I watched this last night. I thought this to be a cute movie despite it’s social commentary seriousness about the WWII and politics. That boy Renato sure has an imagination. And I thought Monica Bellucci did an excellent job playing the sex goddess Malèna. I’m really glad I saw this one due to the group I was in, because I would  never have heard of it otherwise.

The social commentary and politics between fascism and communism was pretty good.
There was a sweet touch to Childhood innocence and becoming an adult.
Plus there was World War 2 in Italy, and comments on those who didn’t participate and called the veterans shameful for political reasons.

As you can see I found lots of hidden meaning and philosophy in this movie. I liked how Renato was such an innocent boy in his mother’s eyes, and whenever shown otherwise would dramatically freak out.

MV5BMjAxOTUyNjgxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwMDUwMzE3._V1__SX934_SY1177_

One thought on “Throwback Thursday Dec 10

Leave a Reply

