Classic · Favorites · movie · Star Wars · TCM · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday, Sequels, and Disney

083b1b6ee3e9c8efd624f4d9b8e0dd39.jpg

Throwback Thursday and Sequels

Marty-Back-to-the-Future-Then-and-Now-8Ball

Normally on Throwback Thursdays, I’ll dig up some old reviews of books and movies I’ve done. I’m feeling nostalgic for some other stuff… For all the movies and such that’s been coming back this year, like Star Wars (dying to see of course), Jurassic Park sequel (don’t care about seeing), Terminator sequel (and sometime in 2016 Terminator 2 in 3D @ Theaters), Mad Max, and Rocky.

The+goonies+now+and+then+this+is+a+great+movie_417429_4603866

This year had a lot of Throwback Anniversaries, from 20 years to 30 years ago. Like Back to the Future 2, The GooniesClueless, and even Charlie Brown’s Christmas 50th Anniversary (the ABC tv special was pretty nice). And here I was just getting used to the ideal of the 25th Anniversary for The Princess Bride (and now it’ll be the 30th very soon). And now there’s all these other movies and stuff with actors from my youth, some I have to do a double-take look just to make sure that it’s really them (Jim Carrey in Once Bitten – OMG!!).

I'm Old

There is without a doubt that I feel old right now. Why is time flying by so fast?!!?

tumblr_nhreozZIpd1r0jajko1_1280

Why do I feel so old? Because now even Toy Story is celebrating their 20th Anniversary. It feels like that movie was released just yesterday. Time is going by too quick. Watching that special on ABC was fun. And after browsing through social media, I’ve noticed that a Toy Story 4 movie is in the making and expected to be released in 2018. Of course Disney had to get on the Bandwagon of making more sequels too!!! Good grief!

Treasures-from-vault-title

Who else can make me feel better is none other than Disney. To make people happy is what he wanted to do after all.

If you’re not much of a Disney fan, I can understand. It takes a lot of work to be a hopeless romantic, and even more work to stomach through all that cheery-ness of those Disney movies.

Disney: Treasures From the Vault

img_disney_collage

And it really helps that Turner Classics Movie channel is hosting a special Disney theme tonight. What’s on tonight you ask? Well, there’s some short shorts that I’m recording, like Pluto‘s “Rescue Dog” and such. I wish that I could record Babes in Toyland.

Watching the shorts and some of Babes in Toyland with my 5 year old niece was nice.

And I’ve watched two documentaries that have been on tv.

Behind the Magic: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

The first one was the Behind the Magic of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs – Disney’s 1st full-length animated movie. (The second one being the Toy Story special).

snow-white-and-the-seven-dwarfs

I loved Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs movie when I first saw it when I was a little kid. Snow White is one of my many favorite Disney Princesses (Cinderella and Merida from Brave being my top faves).

The special documentary was nice. There was parts I knew about (like the Special 7 Oscars), and there was some things I didn’t know about. I didn’t know that they almost didn’t make this movie. There was a lot of skepticism, a lot of them thinking it was unlikely that the masses would like a full 90 minute cartoon movie. Without Walt making this movie, other animated films wouldn’t have been okeyed, like Wizard of Oz. So in a way, we do have Disney to thank for his determination to making this movie.

I will be one of the many that will be buying the reissue of the Snow White movie on Blu-Ray.

SW Special Oscar.jpg
Disney and Shirley Temple with the 7 Special Oscar Awards

And so if all this nastoligia hasn’t made some of you feel older, then I leave you with this…

oECAETj

Leave a Reply

