Challenges · Holidays · Tags

12 Days of Christmas Blog Challenge, Days 1-7

christmas4

12 Days of Christmas Challenge

Days 1 through 7

12days

I was tagged to do the Christmas Blogging Challenge by Laura @Lala’s Blog.

I’ll be starting with 7 of the “Days” because I want to end this on Christmas Day. I know, cheating, but hey I’m busy! I still have Gift Wrapping to do!

Also, I won’t be tagging directly to people, but if you want to do this, then tag, you’re it.


Rules:

  • Include the photo below in each blog post
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively (lets face it it’s a busy time)
  • Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
  • Have fun!

Day 1: List your favorite things about Christmas.

  • Christmas Lights (or as one of my nieces calls them, “Twinkle Lights”).
  • Buying and giving gifts to others.
  • Christmas sweets, like the cookies, and such.
  • The cold weather. I wish it could be a White Christmas, but alas, I’m a Californian, so it’s a Green Christmas for me (although right now it’s more like Brown).
  • Christmas movies and books. No matter how cheesy, like Hallmark or Lifetime tv, I still love watching them.

Day 2: Favorite Christmas Tradition, new or old.

ScannedImage040

Christmas Eve dinner with my dad’s family – Italian style (homemade pizzas!!!!).

And Christmas Day with my mom’s family (large family, always fund spending time with all of them).


Day 3: Your favorite Christmas recipe/ or food.

fudge cooking

The Christmas Fudge! (or as the Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Creme jar calls it: Fantasy Fudge)
Servings and Cooking Time: Prep 10 minutes, cook total 25 minutes. 3 pounds or 40 servings of 2 squares each.
Ingredients:
3 cups sugar
¾cup (1-½ sticks) butter or margarine (or for the lactose intolerant people like my bro-in-law, use the Crisco sticks)
1 can (5oz) evaporated milk
1-½ pkg Semi-Sweet Chocolate, chopped (or just get the chips like we do)
1 jar (7oz) Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Creme
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 tsp vanilla extract
To do: first you need someone both brave and strong (which would be me at our house) to stir the ingredients while it’s still boiling!
Line 9-inch square pan with foil (we just smear butter).
Bring Sugar, butter and milk to a rolling boil in a large saucepan (one you’d use for your homemade spaghetti sauces, and be careful of the boiling bubbles popping up and splattering about). STIR, STIR, STIR, STIR! On medium heat, stirring constantly. DO NOT LET the ingredients STICK TO THE PAN!
Boil for 4 minutes, or until 234° F from candy thermometer. And then remove from heat (just turn off the stove’s flame).
Add Chocolate Chips and the Marshmallow Creme, and keep stirring, you shouldn’t have stopped in the first place!
Once metled, stir in the Vanilla and the Nuts.
Poor into pan, and let cool.
Cut. Store in a Tupperware or serve. And feel free to eat the leftovers on the spoons and pans (best part after all).


Day 4: Share a Christmas Story, or write one of your own.

375px-Nutcrackers

The Nutcracker is my favorite. Last year I read the short story by E.T.A. Hoffmann, The Nutcracker and the Mouse King. I loved it just as much as the ballet performances on tv. I do wish I can see it live like my sister and niece is today. But reading Hoffman’s story and watching them on tv is the best too. I highly encourage Nutcracker fans to read the short story if they haven’t already. I’m not going to spoil it for you all, but I will say that I was surprised with some things that were different or never mentioned in the ballet plays.

41yPjS5rdTL._SX307_BO1,204,203,200_


Day 5: What is your personal wish list this year?

  • Adele’s new cd, 25
  • Wildflower by Drew Barrymore – I just saw this at the stores yesterday, and I really want it now! I’m such a huge fan of hers. I didn’t know that it was released in October. Shows how much out of the loop I am with book releases.

wildflower-barrymore-01-435


Day 6: Share a fond childhood Christmas memory.

One of my dad’s family members would dress up as Santa when we were younger. Know it’s my nieces and soon nephew’s turn to see one of the guys dress up. My 5 year old niece has had that enjoyment 3 times so far, and she still doesn’t recognize who they really are.


Day 7: A photo day, share some Christmas pictures, past or present.

From the Christmas Tree, Charlie Brown and Sally of course, gotta have them. And a poodle ornament for Peanut.

3 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas Blog Challenge, Days 1-7

Leave a Reply

