Artist Spotlight · Best Of · Books · Favorites · movie · Music

January Spotlight Artists

spotlightwilliamcameronmenzies_apt_678x230_122920151108

TCM movie channel has a lot of Artist Spotlights and Themes. The featured Artist Spotlight of the Month for TCM is Production Designer, William Cameron Menzies. And…

fred macmurray

On Wednesday, TCM is featuring Star of the Month, Fred MacMurray‘s films. And there’s a lot of movies with Fred to choose from. My mom’s watching some right now.


Thanks to TCM, I’ve been doing my own Monthly Artist Spotlights. I focus on 3 artists, book authors, music artists, and actors.

My Artist Spotlight for January

Adele

Adele 25.jpg

The first artist I’m listing is Adele. I’m giving her the first spotlight because according to Billboard Music, “Adele’s ’25’ Rules as Nielsen Music’s Top Album of 2015 in U.S.” The Nielson report lists that Adele’s new album has “earned 8.01 million equivalent album units during the year — with a whopping 7.44 million of that in traditional album sales.” And this is Adele’s 3rd time of being the Nielson’s Top Selling Album, making her the first artist to do so.

And I just love her. She’s my Queen of 2015! I love her voice and music is just great I think. I can listen to her stuff for hours. And I just wish that I wasn’t tone deaf, in order to sing along… although I do sing along when I’m alone.

The song I’m picking, is from her new album, and it’s one that I’ve played the most – Water Under the Bridge.


Drew Barrymore

wildflower-barrymore-01-435

I’ve grown up watching Drew Barrymore‘s films. She’s about my age, and she’s been a pretty good role model IMO for me. She’s had her ups and downs (but not as many as Robert Downey Jr). As an actress, she’s funny and quirky, and then she can also be serious. I think that she’s such an amazing person.

Along with acting, she’s just released her book Wildflower. I am really looking forward to reading that.

The first film I remember seeing her in was E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982) . And now she’s been in over 40 films. That’s right. Over 40 films. And that’s not including the tv stuff.

My favorites… Well there’s so many to pick from, so I’m just going to list them (from most watched and on)…

ever-after-a-cinderella-story

  1. Ever After: A Cinderella Story (1998) – I’ve lost count how many times I’ve seen this.
  2. Whip It (2009 Directing Debut) – this was a really good film. Love the Roller Derby and Throwback setting.
  3. Fever Pitch (2005 with Jimmy Fallon) – An obsession over a Sports Team. I so can relate to this movie, except my mom and I aren’t as big fanatics as Fallon’s character. This is loosely based on Nick Hornby‘s memoir, Fever Pitch: A Fan’s Life (1992). It’s also directed by Peter Farrelly and Robert Farrelly. And it was actually being filmed around Boston Red Socks World Series Championship season. They even had to add on some scenes when the team unexpectedly won.
  4. Never Been Kissed (1999)
  5. Donnie Darko (2001)
  6. Big Miracle (2012)
  7. 50 First Dates (2004) – my favorite of the 3 Drew & Adam Sandler movies. My sisters like The Wedding Singer the best, and while I do like that one too, I liked 50 First Dates more.
  8. E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982) – my first Drew movie I watched.
  9. Riding in Cars with Boys (2001)
  10. Music and Lyrics (2007)

I highly recommend all those movies.

Now I’m looking forward to seeing her latest movie, Miss You Already. It’s a limited viewing movie, so I’ll probably have to wait until it’s out on video though. And I’m also looking forward to the movie that she Produced because I read the book and liked it – How to Be Single (February 12, 2016)

Miss You Already.jpg


Nicholas Sparks

sparks4

Why in the world would I be picking Nicholas Sparks?

Well I have read about 3 of his books. And seen tons of his movies.

Nights in Rodanthe was the first book that I read back in 2004. I don’t remember much of it. I do remember skim reading through a lot of the book. I ended up giving it only 3 stars β˜…. As for the movie, well I’m not much of a Richard Gere fan, but I still thought the movie was ok.

And then when in November 2012, I read The Lucky One, and just fell in love with Zeus. And Logan too. lol. My Review.

zac efron and zeus lucky one
Zeus is the big dog

For a long while, The Lucky One was my favorite. And then I read The Longest Ride, and ooohhh baby. I love the cowboy in that book!!! My Review. I’m looking forward to seeing the movie. I recorded it on the DVR, so I’ll be watching it very soon.

Longest+Ride+Luke

I admit that all the books I’ve read has had a very formulaic system. They are all tear-jerkers.

And then there’s the movies. Oh his movies. I’ve seen so many. I’m really looking forward to watching The Longest Ride. I just loved that book!

Longest Ride

And the other reason why I picked him, is mostly inspired by the books I got from Christmas. Two Nicholas Sparks books! I’ve already read The Longest Ride, but it’s such a favorite of mine, that I’m not going to be exchanging it! And I’m seriously looking forward to reading his newest book, See Me.

Nicholas Sparks Christmas gifts

3 thoughts on “January Spotlight Artists

  1. Isn’t there a film about an ordinary guy who wants to get a date with Drew Barrymore? She came across so well in that. Adele is lovely too. I’ve quoted her twice but she’ll be on there more. Wonderfully gifted singer and songwriter. The Boston Redsox victory was so funny. Almost like fate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

