movie · Sundays

Sunday Silent Nights Jan 10

Silent Sunday

Silent Sunday Nights

A Story of Floating Weeds

Turner Classic Movie channel focuses Sunday Nights on the old Black and White Silent Films, and that’s where Silent Sunday Nights comes from. Tonight is a an old one. A Story of Floating Weedsย is a 1934 Japanese Silent Film directed by Yasujiro Ozu, and TCM will be showing two other films by the director (Equinox Flower and The End of Summer – might record the last one). If you’re not much of a Silent Films fan, at least check out The Kid with Charlie Chaplin on January 24th.

I caught the ending of Floating Weeds because I thought it might be a good break in between the commercials of the Golden Globes Awards. I like Ricky Gervais and a lot of the actors giving their speeches, but my God! Why do these award shows have to be cluster fยฅ@kd with so many commercials. I feel like I’m watching one long commercial program ad rather than the award show. So the Silent Film, A Story of Floating Weeds, has been a nice calming break away from all that garbage.

My Silent Sunday

What’s my Silent Sunday Night besides the TCM movies? Well today my cousin and her family have arrived for a few days visit, and I’ve been cleaning like mad before that, so I’m really beat tired, so reading or watching tv is fine by me. ย But I also just want peace and quiet after entertaining my 5 year old niece and cousin’s 3 year old daughter. So I’m now on my second cup of Egg Nog spiked with Spiced Rum. Yummy. The stores need to seriously restock on these Egg Nogs!

14524955851311146697794

Leave a Reply

