movie · Old Reviews · Throwback Thursday · Worst of

Throwback Thursdays & Prometheus

tbt throwback thursday cassette

Throwback Thursdays

Movie Reviews

I watched this movie back in 2013. When I commented it about it in a Shelfari.com Movie Lovers club, I was convinced to go back and try watching this again. Plus there was a little debate with some fanatic on my Amazon Review.

Prometheus

Prometheusย 

(Watched on August 2013) 2 out of 5โ˜… (now I would bump it up a star. Maybe)

I watched the last half of the movie on cable just to see if it’s an alien horror film. For those (like myself) who get scared easily (slightly or full on jump out of their sets or turn their heads and plug their ears)… well, this movie only had one part that I considered scary. But now I can’t even recall what that was.

Prometheus-ending_612x380_0

This did remind me of the movie series Aliens but those were so much better then this. I think they even recycled some of the alien creatures and “space ships” for Prometheus. I later learned that this is a prequel to the Alien series. And that they’re making another prequel movie, which I don’t think I’ll be watching.

shaw_examining_engineer_head7

Who ever played the chick that survived (the doc that got pregnant – same as Sigouney Weaver‘s character), I didn’t like her at all. Weaver did a much better job at playing the female superhero. It wasn’t until later that I realized the Doc was Noomi Rapace. I loved her as Lisbeth in the foreign movies to The Millinium series (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Hornet’s Nest, and Played with Fire). I like the actress but I’m still not liking her role in this movie.

prometheus Michael F

The acting was mediocre, and I am a fan of both Michael Fassbender and Charlize Theron – they’re the only reason why I continued watching it. I just wanted to see Michael and Charlize act in this and thought they both did good with what very little they had to work with. And I mean very little. Everything else was mediocre. I didn’t even recognize Guy Pearce, who did just ok. Oh and Idris Elbaย (Beasts of No Nation) did pretty good too.

Prometheus Charlize Theron and Idris Elba

Would I watch this movie again? No. And this isn’t sequel worthy also, but looks like it’s happening anyway.

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursdays & Prometheus

      1. Yeah, they were so many big names and an even bigger budget that this could’ve surpassed Alien, but it was a fail. I have no idea why they’re making a 2 either…they should just stop!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

