2015 Reviews · Best Of · Favorites · Hunger Games · James Bond · movie · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday & 2015 Movies

books to film

Throwback Thursday

2015 Movie Reviews

I’m behind on reviewing some movies I saw from 2015, so here’s my chance to catch up. Next week I’ll review books. For now, here is 3 movie reviews, Spectre, Mockingjay Part 2, and Ricki and the Flash.

The Big Screen

Spector

First, I’d like to review some of the movies I saw last year. I didn’t get to see that many films in theaters as I hoped, but I did see the ones that I was really looking forward to seeing.

In all, I think I saw 3 films at the theaters in 2015. I gave a quick review of Snoopy, and the other two have been waiting impatiently for me to review them. Now I can finally get around to doing that.

Spectre

SpectorWatched this on 11/20/2015. 5 out of 5 All Stars.

Daniel Craig is back as James Bond.

Short Synopsis: “A cryptic message from Bond’s past sends him on a trail to uncover a sinister organization. While M battles political forces to keep the secret service alive, Bond peels back the layers of deceit to reveal the terrible truth behind SPECTRE.” (IMDb).

My ThoughtsJames Bond goes rogue (again) in this 24th film. As for seeing him as naked as the other Bond films, I was a little disappointed because the most you see of Daniel Craig’s body is during the Opening Credits Theme Song. That opening was very sexy by the way.

Léa Seydoux Spectre

As for the Bond Girl(s), I liked Léa Seydoux the most. She’s maybe my favorite Bond girl. Léa is actually a strong woman who even (small spoiler) saves Bond at one point (end spoiler). Léa was Charlotte LaPadite from Inglourious Basterds, so she’s used to working with Christoph Waltz.
As for Monica Bellucci‘s very small role as a Bond Girl, it just shows how good of an actress Monica is. Where have you seen her from? She was Persephone in The Matrix Reloaded, the Mirror Queen in The Brothers Grimm, “D. Q.” in Shoot ‘Em Up, and I know her as Malèna.

And of course there’s the insanely big stunts, cars, and yet the most simplest gadgets. The best scenes I think was the beginning in Mexico and the car chase. I didn’t even think about how much effort went into the set for the Day of the Dead scene. This video shows parts of behind-the-scenes. And I didn’t have a clue that one of the scenes was a Guinness World Record with the Biggest Bomb.

As for being my favorite James Bond, well this is up there. I was really looking forward to seeing this. I even made some posts of the past James Bonds and their opening credits. I think I was more concerned about Ralph Fiennes playing M. I wasn’t disappointed.


Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2

Mockingjay Part 2 Hunger Games

Watched this on 11/30/2015. 5 out of 5 All Stars.

Short Synopsis: “As the war of Panem escalates to the destruction of other districts, Katniss Everdeen, the reluctant leader of the rebellion, must bring together an army against President Snow, while all she holds dear hangs in the balance.” (IMDb)

My Thoughts: The Finale. Oh how I was waiting for this movie. The last movie, Mockingjay Part 1, was a little bit of a disappointment because I don’t think these movies should have been split.

I thought the finale was pretty good. I went to see it at the theaters with my mom and cousin. There was one scene that was a little too much: the monsters chasing them in the sewers. The ending might have been better than the book. Although it did leave out some loopholes that I needed to explain to my mom, but they were mild. What was great as when my mom was cheering for Katnis near the end. When I first read the book, I felt the same way.


Blu-Ray Home Theater

Ricki and the Flash

1453441880071-2002720662

Watched in December 2015 with family at home. 7 out of 10 Stars.

Starring: Meryl Streep, Mamie Gummer (Meryl’s daughter), Kevin Kline, and Rick Springfield. (Rock star, known for the Grammy hit, “Jessie’s Girl“).

Short Synopsis: “Ricki Rendaazzo, a guitar heroine who made a world of mistakes as she followed her dreams of rock-and-roll stardom. Returning home, Ricki gets a shot at

My Thoughts: I already knew that Meryl is a great singer from Mamma Mia! She did a good job playing Ricki, a has-been rocker. My mom thought of her as more of a Redneck rock-and-roller. And I thought it something having Rick Springfield playing Ricki’s band member and lover. I didn’t recognize him until know, but my mom remembered him. And my Aunt loved Meryl’s singing.

As for Gramps, well he fell asleep throughout parts of this movie.

My favorite scene would be the ending when Meryl Streep and her daughter on-and-off screen, Mamie Gummer sang a duet. I can’t find that on YouTube, so I recommend watching this movie. The family plot is good too.

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday & 2015 Movies

Leave a Reply

