2015 Reviews · Best Of · Favorites · movie · TV

IMDb Best of 2015 in TV & Films

IMDb.jpg

IMDb Best of 2015 in TV & Films

I’ve been wanting to look through what IMDb has to offer for the Best of 2015 in Films and TV for a while now. They’ve got a lot of lists on there so browsing through them took some time.

First up is Best of TV Shows.

Their #1 is Game of Thrones.

Game of Thrones Season 5

Is anyone surprised? Well I was sense I haven’t even been watching these shows. I’m not sure if my younger sister still watches this too. But appearently this is the second year that Game of Thrones has been IMDb‘s #1.

The Runners Up are

The Walking Dead Season 6

#2 The Walking Dead (haven’t watched),
#3 Arrow (bleah),
#4 Daredevil (haven’t watched but it’s on my Netflix queue and To-Be-Watched – TBW),
#5 Narcos (another on my Netflix queue. TBW),
#6 American Horror Story (haven’t watched & maybe will),
#7 Orange is the New Black (younger sis likes this show, haven’t watched & maybe will),
#8 Fear the Walking Dead (because apparently the fans couldn’t get enough of the original series),
#9 True Detective (like the first season, haven’t watched all of the second season yet, but liked it),
#10 The Flash (bleah!!!).

OK. That list wasn’t so great, and I’ve only seen 2 of these shows. How’d you do readers?

A lot of super heroes and villains on there that’s for sure. How about we try the next TV List…


Top 10 TV Series Added to Watchlists in 2015

And once again, it’s Game of Thrones at #1.

Again. Well, if I had the time, maybe I’ll see about checking out the series through Netflix. I’ll probably have to hunt down the dvds or something to rent. Maybe.

Daredevil

The Runners Up are

#2 Daredevil (TBW),
#3 Mr Robot (ya! Looking forward to season 2),
#4 True Detective (must get back to watching this show),
#5 The Flash (bleah!!),
#6 The Walking Dead (at least it’s sister show isn’t also on this list too),
#7 Breaking Bad (have yet to watch),
#8 BBC’s Sherlock (ya!! but then, I’m also behind in watching this show. Must catch up!),
#9 Arrow (bleah),
#10 Better Call Saul (haven’t watched yet, but might).

At least this list has a little bit more variety. 3 of these TV Shows I liked (2 of them I’ve only seen bits of). How about you readers?

Next…


Now the movies…

First up is the IMDb’s Staff’s Best Films of 2015

Their #1 is Mad Max: Fury Road.

Mad Max Fury Road

I haven’t seen Mad Max: Fury Road yet, nor have I seen all of the original Mad Max movies with Mel Gibson. I’ve recorded the first Mad Max (1979 film) and it’s been waiting to be viewed for ages now. I wasn’t in so much a rush to see this movie, because I wasn’t a big fan of the originals. I’ve seen bits and pieces of the older movies and wasn’t impressed with them. I did remember liking Tina Turner in one of the movies.

The Runners Up are

#2 Inside Out (loved that film!),
#3 The Martian (would love to see. And I’m not sure if I should read the book before or after seeing it…),
#4 Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (!!!!!!!!),
#5 Jurassic World (maybe. I’ve seen the first movie, and then read the book. But then haven’t been interested in the rest of them),
#6 Avengers: Age of Ultron (liked this movie, but it started to drag on with too much action scenes),
#7 Ex Machina (haven’t watched yet, will be waiting until it’s out on disk),
#8 Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation (BLEAH!!!! Will wait till it comes out on cable only because of Jeremy Renner and Simon Pegg),
#9 Spectre (loved it, my review),
#10 Ant-Man (waiting till it’s out on cable).

Wow, look at that, I’ve seen 4 of those movies. How did you do readers?

Next list please…


Top 10 Movies of 2015

#1 is Inside Out

Inside Out

Happy Dance I really liked Inside Out movie. It’s up there with one of my favorite kids movie.

The Runners Up are

#2 Mad Max: Fury Road (TBW),
#3 The Martian (TBW and TBR),
#4 Straight Outta Compton (maybe TBW),
#5 Sicario (TBW),
#6 Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (TBW and TBR),
#7 Kingsman: The Secret Service (TBW. We’ve had the Blu-Ray for this since Christmas and have yet to watch it. Will soon),
#8 Ex-Machina (TBW),
#9 Ant-Man (TBW),
#10 Avengers: Age of Ultron (liked it and thought it wasn’t the best Avengers movie).

I’ve seen 2 movies on that list. How did you do readers?

Next…


Top 25 Box Office Films of 2015

OK. Hopefully I’ve seen more on this list. Probably not though.

#1 selling at a U.S. Gross of $652,270,625 is Jurassic World.

Jurassic World

What!?! Really? Jurassic World beat out Star Wars? Really? GRRR… Maybe I’ll see this then when it comes out on cable. Maybe.

Coming in at #2nd Place, but technically is #1

#2: Star Wars: The Force Awakens at $571,420,943 as of December 23rd since IMDb’s list was posted.

Star Wars The Force Awakens

As of January 6th, Star Wars is now the highest Box Office Movie EVER, beating Avatar with over $764.4 million U.S. Gross. Making Star Wars #1. (Their Thank You note to the fans)
(LOVED IT!!! Want to see it again. And here I was worried that Jurassic World beat them. I forgot about the Box Office Record Star Wars broke, thus making them the real winners on this list!),

The Other Runners Up are

#3: Avengers: Age of Ultron at $459,005,868 (I didn’t contribute to that. Saw it on Netflix dvd),
#4: Inside Out at $356,461,711 (went with some family members too),
#5: Furious Seven at $353,007,020 (will be waiting until it comes out on cable maybe. Maybe because of Tony Jaa and Ronda Rousey),
#6: American Sniper at $350,126,372 (“and holds the crown of highest-grossing war film of all time“) (haven’t even seen this yet and it’s been showing a ton of times on cable),
#7: Minions at U.S. Gross: $336,045,770 (“This makes director Pierre Coffin, who provides their vocalizations in all three films, one the highest-grossing voice actors in motion picture history.”) (TBW!!!!),
#8: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2 at $264,540,685 (loved this movie!!! I’m surprised it’s so low),
#9: The Martian at $224,853,519 (TBW and TBR),
#10: Cinderella at $201,151,353 (have the dvd, loved it),
#11: Spectre at $196,274,955 (loved it!!!).

There’s more of course with this list being 25. For those Mad Max fans, the film came at #21 with $153,636,354 US Gross. And The Peanuts Movie at #24 with $127,586,788.

Out of this list, I’ve seen 7 of these movies. How did you do readers?

Last list is next. I promise.


Top 10 Most-Viewed Trailers

#1 Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (Video: Teaser #2)

I wasn’t even surprised about Star Wars being #1.

The Runners Up are

#2. Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) Video: Teaser Trailer
#3. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) Video: Watch New
#4. Suicide Squad (2016) Video: Comic-Con
#5. Terminator Genisys (2015) Video: Trailer #2
#6. Fantastic Four (2015) Video: Theatrical Trailer
#7. Jurassic World (2015) Video: Extended First Look
#8. Spectre (2015) Video: Teaser Trailer
#9. Deadpool (2016) Video: Trailer #1
#10.Kingsman: The Secret Service (2014) Video: International Trailer

IMDb has the videos for these available to watch here.

Out of all those Best of Videos, 2 of them got me to go see them at the theaters. As well as one movie to watch on dvd and another to buy for a Christmas Present for Gramps. How about you readers?

5 thoughts on “IMDb Best of 2015 in TV & Films

  1. Watch Mad Max if you haven’t gotten to it yet. I had never watched the “old” ones and definitely have no intention to now that I’ve seen Fury Road. Absolutely brilliant film. Well worth the watch and has just been added to my DVD collection (sorry, but with some books and movies I’m “old school”). If you need convincing: https://thoughtsallsorts.wordpress.com/2015/08/12/absolutely-wacky-and-weird-and-warped-and-wonderful/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

