Books · Tuesdays

TBR Tuesday Feb 9th

TBR

TBR Tuesday

This past week I’ve been hoping to read some books that have been on my To-Be-Read list for quite some time now. And what did I do?

Snoopy Sparkly Love

Ooh look it’s a sparkly and shiny book. Thanks to Elusive’s book review, I bought a book a week ago because it was a few bucks. And I kept telling myself that I’ll read it after the 3 books that I’m currently reading. And what did I do? I started reading it on Monday night of course. Now this is one of those “Pillow Talk Romances” type books, the ones I’ll read for a little bit in bed just before going to sleep. Plus it’s a Brit-Lit, Bridget Jones like book.

Fact Check!!!!! Please!!!!

I liked the book’s setting, until the heroine mentioned her dress size. She says she’s a size 14 and a size Medium. Also that she always thought that she was always a size Large or X-Large. Sorry but 1) isn’t the heroine supposed to still be a little overweight? And 2) are those US size names then? I thought these were the European sizes (chart brought to you by Wikipedia)…

Women’s Dresses and Suits (and clothing sizes):

United States 0 2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16…
UK 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20…

And the “Blouses” and Sweaters:

EU 40″ 42″ 44″ 46″ 48″ 50″
UK 34 36 38 40 42 44
US 32 34 36 38 40 42

I’ve been to other countries, and trying to decipher their dress sizes is really complicated. But at least give us readers the info that these are UK dress sizes or not. If it is a UK dress size, then my God I really am envious of this heroine.

Different Strokes for Different Book Covers

What’s that new and shiny book? It’s You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning. Well it’s cheap and the story sounded good. So far it’s a typical but good romance novel. But I’m a little disappointed in the cover. Elusive’s paperback book cover looks pink and cute. My Kindle ebook is bland I think, and really in my face every time I open the book on my kindle.

So other than the size difference, and these book covers, the book is going OK. I’m about 60% in after a couple of hours of reading from 2 nights.

2 thoughts on “TBR Tuesday Feb 9th

Leave a Reply

