Best Of · Books · Favorites · Tags

The Characters Book Tag

Book Thief

The Characters Book Tag

I’m going to catch up to some posts that I was tagged to. I was tagged by Laura @LaLa’sBlog months ago.

The Questions

Who is the best kick-ass character?

Foxfire Laurent Cantent movie Joyce Carol Oates

The Hobbits in Hobbit and LotR. Harry Potter. Katniss Everdeen. They’re all my favorites, but I think my first kick-ass favorite character was Margaret “Legs” Sadovsky and the Foxfire grrls in Foxfire by Joyce Carol Oates.

“Legs was always proud even before FOXFIRE, that’s the primary fact about Legs Sadovsky: pride.”

And Legs is also really brave I thought. She was also the sort of character that was ahead of her time.

Foxfire Joyce Carol Oates

“… because the way Legs wasn’t fearful of heights or swimming in rough water or Death itself she wasn’t afraid to risk making a fool of herself. Maybe you think that’s something of no consequence but it isn’t – for making a fool of yourself, offering yourself to others to laugh at, to jeer, that takes guts.”

MCDFOXF EC001

As for the book, well while I was skimming through my paperback copy, I couldn’t help rereading certain pages all over again. This is my only book I’ve read so far by Joyce and it’s been a while since I’ve read it. I do like these characters that she created in this story.

As for the movie, well I’ve seen snippets of the 1996 version, I did like the parts I’ve watched. It did help that young Angelina Jolie played Legs. The latest 2012 movie is on my To-Be-Watched list.


Which character do you most dislike?

Dolores Umbridge - Harry Potter

The character that I disliked the most. Oh that’s easy. Dolores Umbridge.

Dolores Umbridge: “It is the view of the Ministry that a theoretical knowledge will be sufficient to get you through your examinations, which after all, is what school is all about.”

Harry Potter: “And how is theory supposed to prepare us for what’s out there?”

Dolores Umbridge: “There is nothing out there, dear! Who do you imagine would want to attack children like yourself?”

Harry Potter: “I don’t know, maybe, Lord Voldemort!”


If you could date any fictional character who would it be and why?

Princess Bride

Westley from The Princess Bride by William Goldman. It was between him and Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I chose Westley because I don’t think he would be a jerk on our first date like Darcy would. Granted Darcy might be a better choice after I stay at his friends place to help a sister get better from a cold or something. And yet, Wesley would be right there helping me with my sister during that time rather than the way Darcy would be in the other room ignoring me.


If you could change a character in any way what would it be?

50 Shades of Grey characters… Actually I would change just about the entire story because I just didn’t like it and find it beyond unrealistic. I read the first chapter of book 1 and it was a chore to even read through that nonsense.


What character to you made all the wrong choices that didn’t add anything to the book?

The Next Best Thing Kristan Higgins

In The Next Best Thing by Kristan Higgins, Lucy and Ethan have already been in a Friends-with-benefits relationship for over ONE YEAR. Now, granted that Lucy is a widow, and that Ethan is her husband’s brother… wait, all that is more confusing. OK. Lucy is a widow, who is already dating someone, and decides that she’s ready to find a boyfriend. Just not with the guy that she’s already been sleeping with. For over a year. Ya. There’s that detail about how Ethan and Lucy have already been doing the nasty for over a year. I don’t think Kristan liked that time frame too because it was hardly brought up.


Out of the five books you have chosen (for above questions), which character was the best villain whom you love to hate?

Voldermort in the Harry Potter series. At least he wasn’t as Evil as Dolores Umbridge. Any person that tries to mess with educating young minds and letting politics and government get involved 100% is bad in my book.


Favorite side-kick character with the most heart?

Samwise Gamgee LotR Tolkien

Samwise “Sam” Gamgee from The Lord of the Rings (LotR) trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien.


What is your favorite fictional romantic relationship?

Love Rosie

Rosie Dunne & Alex Stewart in Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern (that’s the UK title. US title is Love, Rosie).  And the movie is called Love, Rosie.


What character did you think was the strongest?

Nine-year-old Liesel Meminger living in Germany during World War II. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is one of my favorite books.


Best protagonist?

Pride and Prejudice Elizabeth Bennet & Mr Darcy

Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen is my favorite heroine. I’ve been currently rereading this book. It’s my 3rd or so reread and I still love it. Here’s a older review.

11 thoughts on “The Characters Book Tag

  1. Happy to see I’m not the only one who runs late with tags 🙂 I have to agree with 50 shades – talk about unbearable characters! I haven’t watched more than a few HP movies, but looks like they did a great job casting Umbridge.

    I know this is super awful, but I’m going to say it anyways – I’m so not attracted to Westley at all. I feel like he’s one of those “friends” who hangs ou t with you just because he may someday have a chance with you. Then again, it’s been a while. (And you’re right, he would be a complete sweetheart/gentleman)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like doing these tags but the start of the year has been busy so far for me.

      I think I fell for Westley even more after reading the book. I already liked him from the movie and the book really made him more likable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

