2016 Reviews · 5 Star Worthy · Classic · Favorites · movie · TCM

TCM 31 Days of Oscar – The Apartment

TCM 31 Days of Oscar

TCM 31 Days of Oscar

I’ve challenged myself to watch a movie every day from Turner Classic Movie channel’s 31 Days of Oscar. I’ll be focusing on the movies I haven’t watched yet, with maybe just a few movies I’ve already seen.

Here is my 28th day and movie of my challenge to TCM’s 31 Days of Oscar.

The Apartment

8 out of 10 All Stars

The Apartment 1960

1960 Romance film. Starring Jack Lemmon, Shirley MacLaine, Fred MacMurray, Jack Kruschen, Ray Waltson, David White, Hope Holiday and David Lewis.

The 360° Game: starts off with Sunrise at Campobello starring David White, and he was in The Apartment with Fred MacMurray who was in the next film, Double Indemnity.

And the Oscar goes to… The Apartment received 10 Academy Award nominations and won 5 Academy Awards. Best Picture: Billy Wilder. Best Director: Billy Wilder. Best Writing (Original Screenplay): I. A. L. Diamond and Billy Wilder. Best Film Editing: Daniel Mandell. Best Art Direction-Set Decoration, Black-and-White: Alexander Trauner and Edward G. Boyle.

Short Synopsis: An unlucky “man (Jack Lemmon) tries to rise in his company by letting its executives use his apartment for trysts, but complications and a romance of his own ensue.” (125 mins)

A note before I start watching this. And why I chose this movie… It’s a Billy Wilder movie with Jack Lemmon and Shirley MacLaine – both are some of my favorite actors. Plus I haven’t seen this yet.

The Apartment 1960

My Thoughts: Jack Lemmon played it good as the unlucky guy that’s stuck in what looks like a dead end job with a bunch of higher ups that takes advantage of him and his apartment. But the best character was Shirley MacLaine and I’m not I just saying that because I’m a fan. She was both adorable and smart, even though she didn’t know how to spell. My favorite part of this movie was the ending. I’ve found a YouTube clip for that and it’s at the end of this post. I’ve added it for myself and others. I just love it.


The Play by Play Thoughts… the past thoughts during the movie has taken me longer to do than it has in watching these movies and I have this and 3 more movies to review for this, so I’m not adding the time or too much thoughts on them. I will try to add some quotes I liked or the songs if it’s a musical.

Now on to the movie The Apartment.

The Apartment 1960

“On November 1st, 1959, the population of New York City was 8,042,783.” And this is our first impression of Jack Lemmon’s character – a “pencil pusher” at a desk along with rows of other desks with the same type of “pencil pushers.” And here we thought the people on the show & movie The Office had it bad.

“I work on the 19th floor. Ordinary Policy Department, Premium Accounting Division, Section W, desk number 861.” – Bud

And now it’s off to his apartment where his neighbors think he’s a playboy with a new girl every night.

Sylvia: “What Guy?”
Al Kirkeby: “What’s the difference? Some schnook that works at the office.”

Grand Hotel. But first a word from our sponsor. And from our alternate sponsors”… Bud is scrolling through the tv and found one movie he’d like to see, but thing is is that Bud isn’t lucky enough to watch that movie because now another one of Bud’s bosses wants to use his apartment. To bad too because now I even want to watch that movie. Greta Garbo, Joan Crawford, John Barrymore and Lionel Barrymore. Haven’t seen that movie and this blurb in The Apartment movie made it sound good.

“Don’t worry about her. One squawk from her and she’s out of the job.” – Joe Dobisch

Now thanks to these guys, Bud has a cold. But at least he’ll be promoted because his bosses promised glowing comments on his work in exchange for letting them use his apartment.

The Apartment 1960

Fran: I never catch colds.
Bud: Really. I was reading some figures from the Sickness and Accident Claims Division. You know that the average New Yorker between the ages of twenty and fifty has two and a half colds a year.
Fran: That makes me feel just terrible.
Bud: Why?
Fran: Well, to make the figures come out even, if I have no colds a year, some poor slob must have five colds a year.
Bud: [sheepishly] Yeah… it’s me.

Poor Bud, always has such bad luck.

The downfall of the promotion. Of course Bud has bad luck with this promotion. First off, he has that cold and had to arrange the apartment schedule with 4 guys that use it to seduce their mistresses. He thankfully does that so that he can get some sleep that night. But then he meets with the boss, Jeff Sheldrake. It was pretty crummy the way Bud got blackmailed into letting Jeff use his apartment on the night he was hoping to rest and get better from his cold.

The Apartment 1960

For a while Bud and Fran have been becoming good friends during the elevator ride at work. His other bosses wants to get to know her in a biblical sense and yet she’s only been talking to Bud.

Drinks at 8:30 with a former love or The Music Man with Bud. Hmm that’s a tough one for Fran to choose from. And the drinks happen to be with Jeff Sheldrake. He’s married and she’s heard the divorce promises before by other men apparently, but she still falls for Jeff’s lines. Poor Bud, looks like he’ll be standing outside in the cold again.

Sheldrake: Do you remember what we talked about?…I mean about my getting a divorce.
Fran: We didn’t talk about it, Jeff, you did.
Sheldrake: You didn’t really believe me, did you?
Fran: They got it on a long-playing record now. Music to String Her Along By. My wife doesn’t understand me. We haven’t gotten along for years. You’re the best thing that ever happened to me.

The Christmas Party, The Truth and The case of some sleeping pills. Ugh. I can see why this is Fred MacMurray‘s last film at playing such a bad guy. His character is the type that wants the image of a married life with kids while still being able to play the bachelor without the two connecting.

Fran: “How could I be so stupid? You would think I should have learned by now. When you’re in love with a married man you shouldn’t wear mascara.”

The Apartment 1960

But now that Fran, his wife, Bud and Miss Olson his secretary knows, well things aren’t so complicated for Jeff Sheldrake anymore. His wife “fired” him thankfully. But instead of marrying Fran, Jeff thinks he’ll live it up now as a bachelor. And he’s even given Bud another super promotion, as hush money. Just makes me sick the way these guys treated everyone at the office.

New Years and the ending. Oh this was my favorite part. Jack and Shirley are so adorable in this ending. And I love the way Shirley just gives him that look and smile after she tells him to shut up and deal. Good ending.

3 thoughts on “TCM 31 Days of Oscar – The Apartment

Leave a Reply

