Books · Favorites · movie · Music · Tags

The Love Tag

The Love Tag - Bookidote Blog

The Love Tag

I was tagged by Lashaan & Trang @Bookidote back in February during Valentine’s Day. Though the holiday has past, this still looks like a fun tag to try.

The Questions:

Books other people loved but you haven’t gotten around to read.

Anne of Green Gables L M Montgomery

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery.

I’ve read about 12% of it last year. My parents tried to get me to read this when I was in my teens.

Since I’ve mentioned this book being on my TBR last year, I’ve had a lot of people telling me that I should continue giving this a read.

I will continue reading this when I’m out of this reading slump.


A book that you love but no one else talks about.

The Ghost Bride Yangsze Choo

The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo. Reminded me of a Tim Burton film almost. Yangsze really did a great job with this story. I loved it!

Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen. The Peach Keeper was the first book I read by this author and I just loved her magical realism writing style. It reminds me so much of Practical Magic (the book and movie). Lost Lake is my favorite so far by this author. I also recommend reading the prequel novella Waking Kate (which I read a few months after reading Lost Lake). I recommend reading Lost Lake!!

Girl Before a Mirror Liza Palmer Quote

Girl Before a Mirror by Liza Palmer. Main character goes to a Rom-Com (Romance Book Convention). There’s a contest to see which Romance Book Cover Model is the best of the year, and the main character is one of the judges. Plus all the other men are great too!


Stand-alone book you love.

Too many favorites so here’s some that are dear to me.

Neverwhere Neil Gaiman

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. Why have I waited so long in reading Neil Gaiman’s books?! I loved this. I had gotten the dramatized audio first and loved it. Of course I read the book before listening to the audio. And I highly recommend both the book and the radio dramatized audio (great mix of cast).

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I started off being a little bored with this book. But with the Audio-book read by Will Wheaton, I really liked it. And then by the middle of the book I was in love with it. And now I can’t wait for the movie (in developement).

Austenland Shannon Hale movie

Austenland by Shannon Hale. How I wish I could go to a place like this. Love the movie!!!!

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I love the movie. Watched it twice before I finally got around to reading the book. Absolutely loved !!!!!!!

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. I love Kinsella. A lot of her books I can read within a few days. I’ve Got Your Number is my favorite of her books.


Favorite book couple.

Buttercup and Westley

Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy

Pride and Prejudice Elizabeth Bennet & Mr Darcy

Rosie and Alex in Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern. Loved the movie too!!!

Love Rosie


Series that you love.

Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter books

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Was suprised at how much I liked this series. It’s so funny. And I definitely recommend reading it with the Audio-books.

The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien. First Fantasy, Sci-Fi book, and I just loved it.

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Book series I’ve read with my Grandpa. We both loved the series and the movies.


The perfect song.

My current at the moment mood favorite is Sail by Awolnation because of the History channel show Vikings. I’ve been thinking about how long that show has been on my to-be-watched list (along with Game of Thrones).

But in the meantime, I’m still working on watching the Starz show, Black Sails. I love these pirates.


A cute DIY (Do-it-yourself).

I have two nieces and a nephew. My sister found this DIY ages ago. A Color and Shapes Sidewalk Chalk Game For Toddlers. If you’ve got kids, babysitting those nieces or nephews, or even have neighbors that have kids, this is a fun game that is very creative.

outdoor sidewalk chalk game

Age group: 2-6 years old. As soon as they’re walking and know what shapes are, so I’d say about 2 years or younger.

Set Up Time: About 5 minutes (or less.) Corey @Hey There Home said it took her 5 minutes. Corey also has some other crafts and such too.

I’ve mastered in drawing this in less than that amount of time because I rather than coloring all the shapes in, I have expanded it to leaving some blank and others with criss-cross patched lines. So the game has gotten even more complicated with that for my 5 year old niece. And it helps when she’s drawing some of those shapes too.

The Game: Kid stands at the start line. You call out the shape and/ or color and the kid tries to jump or step on that shape. And so on all the way to the finish line.


driveway shape maze - creative family fun

When I searched the net for that link for the shape game, I came across another game that’s similar but more. Driveway Shape Maze where the kid follows a shape till end of the maze. The Creative Family Fun blog has other creative stuff there too. I’ll be trying this game out for my 5 year old niece later.

Age Group: 2-5. This chalk maze suggests the same age group.

Set Up Time: 15 minutes. It’s a lot of shapes to be drawn on the driveway.

My Note: When drawing the shapes for both games, be sure to draw them large enough for the kid to stand inside them.

shape maze - creative family fun

4 thoughts on “The Love Tag

Leave a Reply

