Favorites · Mondays · TCM

Monday’s Arts & Artists – March 14th

TCM Arts & Artist

Monday’s Arts & Artist

On Monday’s TCM channel is doing a theme I haven’t seen them do lately. Maybe they have done this before and I never noticed, either way it looks interesting. TCM channel is focusing on the films that are about Art and the Artists: i.e. the painters, sculptures and so on.

“However challenging it may be to capture the creative process on film, many entertaining and illuminating movies have been made about artists, ranging from real-life masters to fictional painters and sculptors. On Mondays in March, TCM will consider a number of these creative, sometimes tortured visionaries as portrayed in various film genres.”

So I’m taking a break from my Monday Mayhem (those posts about how crazy my week is looking) and I’ll be posting my art, along with other artist’s works, from painting to music.

Winnie-the-Pooh

Winnie-the-Pooh Characters

Winnie-the-Pooh is my favorite childhood character. He was also some of the first characters that I learned how to draw. Now it’s been ages since I’ve practiced drawing Winnie-the-Pooh, so please excuse my  drawings here.

The first thing one should know about drawing something is that everything is shaped in some way. I’ve taught my nieces that our head is like a circle and our body, arms and legs are like a rectangle (well in way they are). And dresses on girls is sort of like a triangle. Winnie-the-Pooh has a shaped body too, mostly just all circular forms.

Steps 1 and 2 – forming the body:

Steps 3 and 4 – the details:


Making a Rainbow with just 3 Crayons

If you’ve noticed at restaurants, they have only three crayons for the kiddies to color with. My niece has asked me how they expect her to color something purple (her favorite color). Well my dear that’s when I get to teach you about the Primary and Secondary Colors and how when you blend some of the Primary Colors together you get the color that you want (red and blue makes purple).

So here’s a step by step on how to color a rainbow with just 3 crayons.

Step 1, 2 and 3:

Blending first the red and yellow to make orange. Then blend the blue in with the yellow to make green and leave a little extra soft coloring of blue to mix it with red to make purple.

(Note: When I mean blending the colors in, you need to color over the other color. If you noticed I’ve made the color that I want red more darker and then with a little shadow so that I can color over that to make orange.)

6 thoughts on “Monday’s Arts & Artists – March 14th

    1. Eeyore, Pooh and Piglet are my favorites. One of my English instructors said that the characters can all represent the 7 Deadly Sins in some way. Of course he and other critics had to take such sweet characters and point out their biggest flaws that can be related to those Sins. I think he’s the only teacher I had that pointed that out too.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi. Neat theme. I’ve seen five in their lineup and have reviewed Moulin Rouge (****) and The Moon And Sixpence (***). I liked The Agony And The Ecstasy, Lust For Life is okay, but I’m not a fan of Dorian Gray. Great artist movies I’d recm.: Frida ****), Mr.Turner (****), Pollock (the movie not his painting–***), Surviving Picasso (***) and Art School Confidential (***). Artists seem to be at least as tormented as country-western singers….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

