Books · Classic · Favorites · TBR · Tuesdays

TBR Tuesday

TBR

TBR Tuesday

For those that have followed my posts, you’ll know that I was sick twice in January and February. The second time I was sick I injured my shoulder during one of my coughing fits. It was a slight muscle strain, but it’s been over a month and my shoulder injury has gotten worse. I went to see my doctor today and she says that there’s a pinched nerve along with the sore muscle. She’s given me some anti-inflammatory and pain meds. So I’ve had quite a busy day today. What helps besides these meds and a heating pad (well, actually my muscles prefer a cold compress more when it’s bad)? Well the fact that I think I finally got out of my reading slump helps.

So today I was thinking of posting some of my TBR books. But I didn’t have the time. And before I get too groggy to post this and read my books for tonight I thought I’d just list off some books that I’m working on for the month.

Please do leave comments.

I haven’t been able to get to any of the comments in the past couple days because of my shoulder, but I will very soon. So if you’ve read any of these books or have comments, please do.

The Classics

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. 34% rereading. I’m rereading this with the audiobook. It’s been a fun read with it.
Castle Rackrent by Maria Edgeworth. 6% read. I’m reading this book because of the holiday that’s coming up, St. Patrick’s Day. In a previous post I talked about this author and how influential this book is. So far it’s been a slow read but thankfully it seems like it will be a short one.

Un-pausing those books I’ve started but haven’t completed:

First Frost (Waverley Family, #2) by Sarah Addison Allen. 11% read. I’ve read the first book, Garden Spells, last month. I really liked this. So far First Frost is a good continuation of the Waverley Family.
Confessions of An Ugly Step-Sister by Gregory Maguire. 27% read. Let’s see… I read about a quarter of this book about two years ago and it’s been waiting for me to continue reading since then. What’s put me off in continuing reading this is because I saw the 2002 movie with Matthew Goode and Stockard Channing before I was interested in reading this. I loved the movie. Now it’s been a while since I’ve watched that movie so it’s now the perfect time to continue reading this. I hope.

Tonight’s Reading

Pride And Prejudice Unabridged Jane Austen

Tonight I think I’ll be nodding off to sleep with the Jane Austen audiobook. Goodnight all.

7 thoughts on “TBR Tuesday

    1. Thank you. I’m lucky it’s my left shoulder and arm (pinched nerve) because I’m right handed.
      I’m finding the audiobook I’m listening to is pretty funny because the reader has been doing a great job with some of the accents for certain characters (love the one for the mother!). The classic audios I generally listen to a sample and if I like how that reader sounds then I’ll try it out. Lately there’s been a lot of big movie stars reading for the audiobooks. Fun stuff

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I could definitely handle a movie actor doing it. It would be AWESOME if Colin Firth did Mr Darcy. I listened to one and the narrator sounded very nasally and I didn’t particularly like that. I might try it. A classic done right is definitely appealing. Who is the narrator for the one you’re listening to?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Emma Messenger. My last audio books were with actors (Cary Elwes reading his bio, Sissy Spacek read To Kill a Mockingbird, Carrie Ficher with her bio book, Lauren Graham read her book, and now I’m waiting for Go Set a Watchman audio book read by Reece Witherspoon from the overdrive library. All fun stuff

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

