Books · Old Reviews · Throwback Thursday · Worst of

Throwback Thursday Reviews

tbt Throwback Thursday book

Throwback Thursday Reviews

A Throwback of some of my old reviews.

Free purchase 6/20/13 (& is currently Free!). Read and Reviewed on 6/21/13.

Wicked Games by Jessica Clare 2★

Wicked Games - Jessica Clare

This was ok for a quick read. I read this in a day. The storyline is predictable and addicting to read. The interaction between the heroine and hero was the addictive part. The other storyline was like reading the tv show Survivor.

There was a lot of explicit sex scenes in full detail. Maybe a little too much detail sometimes because I was even skipping those redundancies.

There was a lot of grammatical errors and redundancies. I ended up skipping those because it took away from the story. At times I even had to read the sentence over again just to see what the author was trying to say.

Reading this in a day is a real accomplish for me because it takes me weeks to read well written books. So Wicked is more a fluff read IMO.

Also, the character description is nothing like the models on this cover. The man is supposed to be this tall blue eyed Greek God.

All in all, this was an ok read. I wouldn’t pay money for it. And IMO, this is a typical erotica contemporary romance.

And a note on the cover models:

The couple on this book and other romance free ebooks looked familiar to me. So I did a search and found this:

GoodReads List of 80+ Books with these Models

Sztella Tziotziosz and Péter/Pepe Tóth have been on 89 book covers! The most popular book being Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout. (Kindle cover 1 & cover 2)

That kind of ruins the book for me when the models are over used like this. Can’t book covers be more creative? Where’s the originality? People on this thread have even said they’ve gotten confused with seeing the same faces on so many covers. And a lot of the cover photos look like duplicates.

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Reviews

  1. I agree, overuse of models can get old. And I would like to state that in Obsidian, Kat is not this stick thin girl, whereas the model representing her is. I find that happens a lot and wish the book industry would fine models to represent the actual characters (and not just cartoon representation either).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh miss representing the characters is another pet peeve. It would be nice if they found models that fit more to the characters.. but then Fabio wouldn’t have been so famous I suppose.

      Like

Leave a Reply

