Best Of · Classic · Favorites · Holidays · movie · Music · TCM

Happy St Patrick’s Day

Erin Go Bragh

And Erin Go Bragh!

St. Patricks Day - Corned Beef and Potatoes
St Paddy dinner from 2014

Normally Gramps and I are lucky when Ma makes her traditional Corned Beef and Potatoes. There’s a lot of Irish Heritage on my mom’s side of the family and her Corned Beef is pretty good. But today neither of us are in the mood to do some cooking so we’ve got some frozen pre-made Pot Pies cooking in the oven right now that we ate. So I’ll just fantasize about the dinner from last year while I drink a beer. Or two.


The Luck of the Irish in Films.

I love watching films with some Irish theme to it. I’ve been watching some of those regularly now on this date. So far I’ve got watched one and am looking forward to watching a couple more for tonight maybe. The majority of these are some of my favorites, with Three Cheers for the Irish being a new one to me.

The Classic Irish Movies

Here’s two oldies I watched from the TCM channel today.

The Irish In Us

The Irish In Us 1935

8 out of 10 Four Leaf Clovers

1935 Comedy/ Romance film. Starring James Cagney, Pat O’Brien and Olivia de Havilland.

Short Synopsis: The sons of an Irish family have to choose among police work, prize fighting and love.

My Thoughts: This is a rewatch. I last saw this movie last year so there was bits that I forgot. It’s still a fun film and the cast was pretty funny too. And poor Pat (O’Brien), he never had a chance up against his good looking younger brother, Danny (James Cagney).

Three Cheers for the Irish

Three Cheers for the Irish

8 out of 10 Four Leaf Clovers

1940 Drama/ Comedy film. Starring Thomas Mitchell, Priscilla Lane, Alan Hale, Virginia Grey, Irene Harvey and Morgan Conway.

Short Synopsis: An Irish police veteran (Thomas Mitchell) in New York politics has a daughter (Priscilla Lane) in love with a Scottish police rookie (Dennis Morgan).

My Thoughts: This was a cute and fun movie. The acting in this was pretty good. The romance with the daughter and Scottish guy was pretty quick but it was more of a plot builder for the acceptance of an interracial marriage. And there was some good funny moments too.

Today’s Irish Movies

Here’s so movies that I love from my DVD collections.

The Matchmaker

9 out of 10 Four Leaf Clovers

1997 Romance/ Indie film. Starring Janeane Garofalo, David O’Hara, Dennis Leary, Milo O’Shea, Jay O. Sanders, Saffron Burrows and Maria Doyle Kennedy.

Short Synopsis: A politician is running for something and his assistant must go to Ireland to find one of his ancestors to help his campaign. And she just happens to  arrive in Ireland during their Matchmaking Festival.

My Thoughts: Oh the cast in this movie was perfect. Sure there’s a romantic story but there’s just so much good comedy and acting in this too. Oh there’s so much fun with this movie. Two great comedians with Janeane and Dennis. Their humor was good and I think that it was just a small part of this movie’s comedy. I highly recommend this movie.

The Departed

10 out of 10 Four Leaf Clovers

2006 Drama/ Crime film. Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson, Mark Wahlberg, David O’Hara, Vera Farmiga, Ray Winston, Alex Baldwin and Martin Sheen. Directed by Martin Scorsese.

Short Synopsis: A mob boss must figure out who his rats (spy) are while the Police department must figure out the same.

My Thoughts: (Note: 4 Academy Awards including Best Picture) This movie is a classic Scorsese film. It’s definitely an Irish crime film with Jack Nicholson playing really good at being the boss. I think this movie is also one that I think Leonardo did a pretty good job at doing. I really liked his character. I really recommend watching this movie. It’s one of my favorite crime mobster films.

Now I won’t go into too much details about this plot. If you’re watching it for the first time and like to guess what’s going to happen like my mom and Gramps does, I think you might be surprised at the ending like they were.

I’m not much of a fan of the Boston Red Sox baseball team and Dropkick Murphy’s songs are big with that team’s fans. But now every time I hear this song, I think of the movie now rather than that team. So here’s the intro of the movie with this song. It’s also played again and here’s that YouTube link but beware of the SPOILER in that video.

I’m Shipping Up to Boston by Dropkick Murphy’s. Here’s the YouTube link for the band’s video.

The Luck of the Irish in Music

I can spout off a ton of Irish music and favorite performers, but it would be a long list. So I’ll just name 2 songs that are favorites.

Flogging Molly

Goodness sakes I could list off so many favorites from Flogging Molly. But I’ll just post their newest video and song they’ve posted on YouTube:

Video “Published on Mar 11, 2016. Get our new single on Apple Music here

Glen Hansard

I first noticed this singer from the movie Once and loved his music (along with Markéta Irglová). (Their Oscar Award song -“Falling Slowly“). And I just realized that it has been ages since I’ve seen the movie The Commitments. I just saw that Glen Hansard played the character – Outspan Foster. Well that calls for a rewatch soon. Here’s a favorite song from him… it’s a tie with his new song “Didn’t He Ramble” and The Frames‘s song “Fitzcarraldo“, but has I’m picking a song by Glen’s solo music here’s “Didn’t He Ramble”:

5 thoughts on “Happy St Patrick’s Day

  1. Good picks. Try “The Long Gray Line”, “Shake Hands With The Devil”, “Far And Away”,”Michael Collins”, “The Fighting 69th” and “Darby O’Gill And The Little People”. Of course chase with “The Quiet Man” and a pint or three…. “shorr, and now ya’s got me blawd up”….

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

