Books · TGIF

TGIF Mar 18th

TGIF Minions

TGIF

Friday has finally come! Thank goodness. All though I still have things to do this week. And my 5 year old niece is spending the night for a “sleepover party” on Sunday because she has a week off from school for Spring Break. Yup, vacation time and holidays are just around the corner. I wish I can get a vacation time too. At least my shoulder injury feels like it’s getting a little bit better.

Ikea is Nuts I tell you!!!

Ikea Desk

At least one of our projects have been completed for the end bedroom remodeling – I built anΒ Ikea desk. If you’re not familiar with Ikea’s products then it’s important to know that you have to set up and build the product yourself. Their is a customer support, and I think my sister says that for some items they’ll come and assist you, but I had to build this desk myself – with some help from my mom, but she couldn’t understand the directions. It’s all visual – no words! It took me a while to build it but I got it done. It only took me a couple of hours but that’s because there was so many nuts and screws for this little desk! I think there was about 40 pieces or something! Good grief! Now we just need to build the little stand/ shelf Ma got for the room. Hopefully that won’t have complicated directions like the desk, let alone take as long to set up!

Ikea Desk Instructions
Ikea’s instructions on how to build the desk

Cleaning up my Kindle Storage

Harry Potter - Herminone books

I’m currently cleaning out the “storage” on my Kindle Fire. I don’t want to but apparently I need more storage space on the kindle in order for it to work properly. Gah! It says that I’m low on storage and need to Archive some items (mostly all books and those doc books from Netgalley). I’m never thrilled about doing that. So here’s a short list of the things I’m sending into the cloud to be downloaded once I’ve read some of these other books.

  • Micro by Michael Crichton. I’ve still got another book of his on my kindle that I’m looking forward to reading for this year.
  • The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas BenedictΒ by Trenton Lee Stewart. My cousin highly recommended that I read this because he really liked this series, but I’ve had this on the kindle without any interest of reading it soon so it’s off to the cloud with ya. Sorry cousin.
  • The Mysterious Bendict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart.
  • The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell. I thought I might like this, but then I saw an episode of the CW tv show and it’s put me off in wanting to read this soon. Off with you I say.
  • The Gift by Cecelia Ahern. I do like Cecelia but there’s a lot of other books of her’s on my kindle that needs to be read. Off for now.

Currently Reading

Pride And Prejudice Unabridged Jane Austen

  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Reading on my kindle with the iTunes audio book read by Emma Messenger. 50% read. Love Emma’s accents for some of these characters. She’s made them a little more tolerable.
  • Castle Rackrent by Maria Edgeworth. 6% read. Slow start.
  • First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen. 11% read. Good so far.
  • Confessions of an Ugly Step-Sister by Gregory Maguire. 27% read. I paused my reading from a couple years ago so I’ve been trying to refresh on where I left off at.
6 thoughts on “TGIF Mar 18th

  1. Cool update. πŸ™‚ Oh, man, do I remember Ikea furniture-building days. The new-style instructions are a funny and are a good idea–if they work. It would be hilarious if someone could make a gif of one of those doughy instruction-people going berserk with frustration and smashing up the Ikea furniture he’s trying to build.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, steam coming out of his nonexistent ears, hahahahaha.
        How are you liking Pride and Prejudice so far? I’ve been toying with the idea listening to more audio books, but since I work and live in the same town I’m am not in my car all that much, not like when I used to have a long commute. Where do you typically listen to your audio books?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I like listening to the audio books while I’m reading it on my kindle (or other). I think the reader’s accents adds to the fun. And I usually read the book with the audio when I’m in bed or just able to spend the time during the day.
        My reread of Pride and Prejudice with the audio has been fun so far. Emma has even made me laugh a few times with some of her accents.

        Like

Leave a Reply

