Books · Favorites · TBR · Tuesdays

TBR Tuesday – March 22nd

TBR

TBR Tuesday

My pinched nerve at my neck has been causing me a lot of pain lately and so my work on my blog and social time on WordPress has been suffering a little. I normally am able to have these daily themes already posted and dusted by now and yet it’s nearing 11 pm as I type this here in California, USA.

As for my reading, well I was able to complete one book so far this month (Northanger Abbey by Val McDermid). Ya me! But as for my other books, it’s coming along too slowly for my plans to reach my reading goals (6 out of 65 books read for my 2016 reading goal. Good grief).

Once Upon a Time X Challenge

Once Upon a Time X

When? March 21st to June 21st.

This “Quest” is hosted by Carl @ Stainless Steel Droppings.

On Sunday’s post I listed off some Blogathons and such that I’m looking forward to trying. Once Upon a Time X is one of those. There’s 4 genres to choose from (fantasy, Fairytale, folklore and mythology). Plus there’s numerous challenge levels for this challenge. I’m starting off easy with the books and will just focus on finishing one book (The Journey) and maybe some short stories. There’s also some movies and such I’m looking forward to watching for this.

The Books TBR

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.

Harry Potter Sorcerers Stone JK Rowling

A reread. I’ve just recently watched the movie for the umpteenth unknown time. I also have been transferring all the books I noted that I read on the Shelfari.com website onto a little handwritten notebook. It’s now a sort of journal of all the books I think I read and am currently reading. Harry Potter series has been predominantly in a lot of those years I noted what books I read. So this reread just might help me out of my reading slump.

First Frost (Waverley Family book 2) by Sarah Addison Allen. I’ve been recently reading this one. I’ve read 11% so far. I really liked the first book, Garden Spells, as well as two other books by Sarah. Lost Lake is my favorite so far.

Confessions of an Ugly Step Sister by Gregory Maguire. 26% that I read over a year ago. I loved the movie with Matthew Goode. I remember thinking that the start of the book was ok but I’ve stopped to pick up other books and haven’t picked it up again. I’d like to try to finish this book sometime this year.

The Musician’s Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia) by C. S. Lewis. 11% that I read over a year ago. I recently read 3% of the beginning to my 5 year old niece. She liked the old paperback cover and wanted me to read some of it to her. So I read some of it while she was taking her bath, her bath toys were more interesting to her.

A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond. I started reading this aloud to my niece last year. We’re still on page 76 out of 176 pages. I think I’ll just skip ahead of her and finish this book soon.

Day Watch Sergei Lukyanenko

Day Watch (Дозоры #2) by Sergei Lukyanenko. I saw the Russian foreign movies of Night Watch and Day Watch series and loved them. I read the first book, Night Watch, about a year ago. I think it’s time that I got back to reading about these supernatural beings and their destinies.

So Long and Thanks For All the Fish (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy book 4) by Douglas Adams.

So Long and Thanks - Douglas Adams

I read the last three books along with the audio (both reading and listening). I loved the first audiobook with Stephen Fry!! I highly recommend it. The last two and book 4 are read by Martin Freeman. He has done a pretty good job but not enough for me to spend a lot of money on so I was boring the audio from the Overdrive.com library and reading it with either my special collection series hardcover or the kindle depending where I was while reading.

Leave a Reply

