Best Of · Favorites · Music · Soundtracks · Throwback Thursday

My Throwback 80s Music

tbt throwback thursday cassette

My Throwback 80s Music

This is a soundtrack of some of the music that I loved from the 1980s.


Kids in America by Kim Wilde

Because I was a I kid when this song was released. In fact I was the same age as one of my nieces. I may be old but I’m still a kid at heart.


Only in my Dreams by Debbie Gibson

Yes I admit it. Debbie was one of my guilty pleasures. And I admit that I even had those weird hairdos.


I Think We’re Alone Now by Tiffany

Yes, another guilty pleasure. Hey, I was just a young teen at the time ok. I obviously didn’t know what great music was back then.


Walk Like an Egyptian by The Bangles

I’m still a fan. Come on, you know you want to whistle along to this.


West End Girls by Pet Shop Boys

Heard this song today on the radio and it inspired this list.


Like a Prayer by Madonna

My cassette tape got worn out from the amount of times I played this song!


Bad Reputation by Joan Jett & The Blackhearts

I did like Joan Jett, but my sisters were bigger fans.


Cherry Bomb by The Runaways

I wouldn’t have heard this song if it wasn’t for my sisters, although we listened to it more in the 90s.


One Way or Another by Blondie

Blondie was big in my family. This song is one that I liked listening to more.


Spam by Weird Al

I did watch those Weird Ale videos on MTV despite not being much of a fan. His videos and most of his remake songs were funny IMO.


It’s the End of the World by R.E.M.

I became a fan because of this song.


Because of the Movie

Drew and Tranquil Dreams hosted an 80s movie Blogathon in February. I rewatched Pretty in Pink for that and added a bunch of songs and their videos at the end because the 1980s movie was nothing without an awesome soundtrack IMO. Here’s some more songs from the 1980s with movies that were either also in the 80s or those early 1990s flicks.


Blaze of Glory by Jon Bon Jovi

I already was a fan of Bon Jovi, but this song is a favorite because of the movie Young Guns 2.


The Goonies ‘R’ Good Enough by Cyndi Lauper

I was already dressing up like Madonna and Cyndi before the movie, The Goonies was released.


You Could Be Mine by Guns n’ Roses

My sisters were fans of this band (along with New Kids on the Block). I made fun of them and called the band “Guns n’ Poses” and boy did my sisters hate that. lol

I like this song only because of the movie Terminator 2.


Invincible by Pat Benatar

My sisters and I are fans of Pat Benatar. This is another song that I like because of the movie. This is the theme song for the 1985 movieΒ The Legend of Billie Jean. Although I do like Love is a Battlefield and Hit Me With Your Best Shot.

Oh and this movie also happens to star the brother and sister actors, Helen and Christian Slater.


My Sharona by The Knacks

Ok to be honest I didn’t really know this song until the movie Reality Bites. I loved that movie and it’s still a favorite. I was already a fan of Winona Ryder. And after seeing this movie I became a fan of Ethan Hawk, Janeane Garofalo and the band The Violent Femmes.

19 thoughts on “My Throwback 80s Music

  1. Hey, great tunes! I was older than you in the 80s, but I for sure rocked out (still do). I liked Kim Wilde (where’d she go?), The Runaways (good movie, too), Blondie, natch and that minx Benatar. Myself, for Joan Jett, I’d have to go for “I Love Rock And Roll” and “Do You Wanna Touch”–oh, and that redo of “Crimson And Clover”. Story of my life, panting over a gal that would not be interested in me…”My Sharona” was like…everywhere…..fun post, for sure.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. We seem to have similar taste in music. I’m not just saying that because I’m a fan of Clueless, or that the future only belongs to the future itself, but I do tend to go back to the great music of the 80s all the time. I love that Tiffany and Billy Idol are connected by their famous 80s covers. I’m not happy Shakira tried to steal The Bangles’ Eternal Flame. I do often ask myself what have I done to deserve this. I really hope I’m not going over the borderline with this comment. It is annoying when you follow someone on Twitter who turns out to be a fake friend. They may have been born to be bad, but I like Joan when she declared she wasn’t afraid to have a bad reputation. I always love it when someone new comes along to tell us the rapture is coming. I can handle one Tiffany, but I really don’t need a clone. I do like R.E.M even though I haven’t been swimming in a long time. Night or during the day. I don’t like being another face in the crowd just like they say, which is probably why I prefer Talk Talk’s song of the same title better. Even after all these years, I still don’t own a ceramic dog. Also I’m ashamed, but I haven’t seen The Goonies yet. I don’t know if I can handle it if there are more songs here. I’m already all fired up. Oh, good. Just one more. As good as My Sharona is, I don’t buy that they were the ones that killed disco like they claim.

    Phew! I normally only get to make endless movie references. Thank you so much for this post, but no Guns N’ Roses? Anyways, my sentences probably lost their logical connection to each other pretty quickly. Oh, well. I just ate dinner and I think if I go in there to fix it then it would just be destructive. I know this sounds absurd, but this was a nice break. Thanks, Michelle!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I all but had to bite my tongue to not end that comment with “Thanks, My Michelle” to reference that song or to reference more here. Instead I went with dinner and destructive to reference the album it was on. Thanks again.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

