Books · Holidays · TGIF

TGIF 3/25

TGIF Minions

TGIF

Thank goodness it’s Friday. Wait. No. Ah dang it.

Easter 2012

I’ve got a lot of cleaning to do this weekend because of Easter Holiday. We’re having family members over for dinner and for my niece and cousins Easter Egg Hunt. I’m the Easter Bunny’s “Assistant” and after 5 or so year’s of “helping” that bunny out has gotten complicated. I make sure that there’s some easy hunts, but the kids are older now. So I’ll need to add some more difficulty to the hunt this year

Easter 2013

Trying to find “new” hiding places is getting really difficult. We have one big flower planter along the side of the fence and then bushes along the house that the kids know for a fact that the plastic goodie eggs will be there. Sure there’s the high trees and the play fort out there. I even put some eggs inside the BBQ but that was deemed as a bad thing so I had to scratch that out. Thankfully there will be one less Easter Egg Hunter this year.

Arrrggghhh!!!! Any ideals people? Help!! Please!!!

Ok. Reading. I’ll do that to temporarily forget about cleaning and finding new hiding spots. Yes reading.

Currently Reading

Castle Rackrent by Maria Edgeworth. 29% read. I’ve given up trying to read the introduction and am just reading Maria’s story.
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. 50% reread. Reading the kindle edition along the iTunes audiobook read by Emma Messenger. Emma is hilarious in for this reread. Love it! So  I have been looking for some other books by this reader. It he mostly does these classics.
First Frost (Waverley Family, #2) by Sarah Addison Allen. 11% read.

First Lines

Castle Rackrent - Maria Edgeworth

Here is 2 very long sentences from Castle Rackrent by Maria Edgeworth.

“Having, out of friendship for the family, upon whose estate, praised be Heaven! I and mine have lived rent-free time out of mind, voluntarily undertaken to publish the MEMOIRS OF THE RACKRENT FAMILY, I think it my duty to say a few words, in the first place, concerning myself. My real name is Thady Quirk, though in the family I have always been known by no other than ‘Honest Thady,’ afterward, in the time of Sir Murtagh, deceased, I remember to hear them calling me ‘Old. Thady,’ and now I’ve come to ‘Poor Thady’; for I wear a long greatcoat winter and summer, which is very handy, as I never put my arms into the sleeves; they are as good as new, though come Holantide next I’ve had it these seven years: it holds on by a single button round my neck, cloak fashion.”

Oh these classic books and their long sentences, but so far it’s ok.

Leave a Reply

