Books · Dogs · Favorites · Netgalley · Wednesday

Wazzup Wednesday’s

wazzup

Wazzup Wednesday’s

A Wednesday theme with a shout-out to all the things that I’ve liked from the past week.

Wazzup Toller?

Newton and Peanut

Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever, other wise known as a Toller. I’ve never heard of those kinds of dogs before today. I love watching those Best in Shows and I don’t even recall these dogs being in the show. My cousin is visiting us right now and she brought her dog Newton with her. He’s a sweet 40 pound Toller. He’s hyper, playful and with the right training that my cousin has been doing great at, Newton is well trained. As for Peanut and Newton getting along, well it’s not so great (as you can see in the picture, Peanut is hiding on Gramps’s  lap). Peanut has an Alpha and Poodle attitude, plus a bit of a big dog complex. There are some big or medium dogs that she decides right away that she doesn’t like, but I’ve been able to have her behave nicely with Newton. Sometimes. Gramps doesn’t blame her for not liking Newton because he was aggressive towards her because he was eating. But Newton has been a good dog so far during their stay here.

Wazzup Netgalley?

Netgalley pro reader

Oh I’m seriously behind in book reviews here, let alone reviewing the books from Netgalley. It doesn’t help that I’m checking their available books almost every day.

Here’s some somewhat popular authors books that I’m looking forward to reading from the books that I did (or didn’t) get from Netgalley.

The Blade Artist by Irvine Welsh

The Blade Artist by Irvine Welsh (April 7th). I didn’t get this book from Netgalley but I’m’ seriously tempted in getting this book. The blurb sounds like a good thriller that I’d actually like, and I don’t often read thriller or mystery books.

A quick synopsis from the blurb in my point of view here is this. No. I tried but I don’t think I’ll give it justice. I mean, there’s this guy, Jim Francis who has a dark past. A really dark past. But he’s left that behind him in Scotland and now has a happy life in California. The blurb sounds like it’s more than just about a guy with a past that’s come back to haunt him. And if any of you have watched the movie Trainspotting, then you know like I do that there’s something more to the story.

Speaking of the movie Trainspotting, I’ve still got that book on my physical book shelf to read along with 2 other books of his.

The One You Really Want by Jill Mansell

The One You Really Want by Jill Mansell (release date: April 1st). This book was available for automatic reading. I’m a fan of Jill’s books so I was very happy to get the chance to get this book from Netgalley. I might read this in April, we’ll see.

All of Jill’s books have multiple points of views from characters that I’ve either really liked or hated. And her writing is pretty good.

The Girl from Summer Hill by Jude Deveraux

The Girl from Summer Hill by Jude Deveraux (May 3rd). Oh Jude. I’ve read one other book by her and liked it so this will be interesting.

This book sounds good with it’s Pride and Prejudice and Jane Austen twists. But it’s a series and I don’t often pick up series unless I really like the author, or it’s a stand-alone read, or I’ve accidentally picked that book to just read because of how I felt at the time (yes my mood and feelings is key in some of the reasons why I pick a book to read).

Tall Tail by Rita Mae Brown

Tall Tail (A Mrs. Murphy Mystery) by Rita Mae Brown (May 17th). I’ve read one book by this author and it was for this book series. It was one of those short novellas. I think the title was something like Sneaky Pie for President.

If all the other books are from the cat’s point of view, then I really look forward to these books. Sneaky Pie is one hilarious cat. And the other animals are great. But I still have about 3 or so other books from Netgalley with her books to read.

Oh I wish I had more time to do some reading. blahhh.

4 thoughts on “Wazzup Wednesday’s

Leave a Reply

