2016 Reviews · Classic · Favorites · movie · Tags

3 Days 3 Quotes – Day 3 and Blazing Saddles

3 Days 3 Quotes

3 Days 3 Quotes

Ok I have been tagged a lot so far this year so please stand by. I am trying my best to get through them.Β I was tagged by 4 lovely bloggers and these lovely 4 bloggers who tagged me are Giovanna @Book Coma, Shivalika @Whimsy Journals, B.G. @Getting Through Anxiety, and Beth @The Books Are Everywhere.

The Rules:

1) Thank the person who nominated you
2) Post a quote for three consecutive days
3) Nominate three new bloggers each day (not going to do this for Day 3. Unless you reader wants to do this tag the I Tag You. Just remember that I nominated you.)


My Gramps and I watched Mel Brooks’s film Blazing Saddles on Tuesday. All of Mel’s movies are fun to watch I think and I highly recommend watching any of them (History of the World, Part 1, Young Frankenstein, and Spaceballs are my favorites).

Now I know that I only have to do one quote for this post, but

Day 3 & Blazing Saddles

Mel Brooks - Blazing Saddles

Blazing Saddles is a 1974 Western Comedy and satire to all those Spaghetti Western Movies (a lot of Western actor name dropping and stereotypes in this movie).

Now with all of Mel Brooks movies, there is a lot of good fun quotes to be found. There’s even scenes like in this movie where sound effects of farting noises is only needed. Though that scene is gross it’s still is pretty funny so here’s the YouTube link for that Fart Scene.

The Quotes:

To describe all the Johnson’s that are the council members of Rock Ridge town:

Mel Brooks - Blazing Saddles

(Besides the fact that they all have the same last names, which hints at inbreeding.)

Jim: [consoling Bart] “What did you expect? “Welcome, sonny”? “Make yourself at home”? “Marry my daughter”? You’ve got to remember that these are just simple farmers. These are people of the land. The common clay of the new West. You know… morons.”


Because of Mel Brooks:


(First let it be known that Mel Brooks can always be found in playing at least one or much more different roles in his film. In Blazing Saddles, Mel plays the Governor and an Indian Chief, who spoke in Yiddish. And if you’re having trouble finding out which character is the Governor, Mel’s jacket has the letters “GOV” on the back).

Mel Brooks - Blazing Saddles

Hedley Lamarr: “Meeting adjourned. Oh, I am sorry, sir, I didn’t mean to overstep my bounds. You say that.”
Governor William J. Le Petomane: “What?”
Hedley: “”Meeting is adjourned”.”
Governor: “It is?”
Hedley: “No, you say that, Governor.”
Governor: “What?”
Hedley: “”Meeting is adjourned”.”
Governor: “It is?”
Hedley: [sighs, then gives the governor a paddleball] “Here, play around with this for awhile.”
Governor: “Thank you, Hedy.”
Hedley: “No, it’s Hedley!”
Governor: “It is?”


And for the “Best Supporting Actor”:

(I am not much of a fan of Harvey Korman. But he was funny in this movie and was even able to stay in character, even with Pie Cream all over his face.)

Hedley Lamarr: “Men, you are about to embark on a great crusade to stamp out runaway decency in the west. Now you men will only be risking your lives, whilst I will be risking an almost certain Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actor.”


And to explain Mongo’s name:

Mel Brooks - Blazing Saddles

(According to my Gramps, back in the day people with Down Syndrome was nicknamed Mongolian, hence Mongo. A bit unfair to both those with Down Syndrome and the real Mongolian people).

(And here I bet you all thought his name was Mongo because he acted like a Mongrel, well that’s ok because I did too).

Bart: “I better go check out this Mongo character.”
[Bart reaches for his gun]
Jim: “Oh no, don’t do that, don’t do that. If you shoot him, you’ll just make him mad.”

(Who wouldn’t be mad at getting shot at? Good grief)


And last but not least, because of the great Madeline Kahn:

(Ah I love her. She was so funny in this and other Mel movies.)

Lili Von Shtupp: [singing] “I’ve been with thousands of men/again and again/they promise the moon/they’re always coming and going and going and coming… and always too soon.”
Lili: [spoken] “Right, girls?”

One thought on “3 Days 3 Quotes – Day 3 and Blazing Saddles

Leave a Reply

