Books · Favorites · Harry Potter · Wednesday

Wazzup Wednesday’s – Apr 6th

wazzup

Wazzup Wednesday’s

A Wednesday post here of all those neat things I noticed throughout this week.

Wazzup Harry Potter?

So I’ve defended J. K. Rowling and her Harry Potter books since I first read the series back in 2002. Barnes and Noble’s blog post even has an article of “6 Things You Should Never Say to a Harry Potter Fan.” I like the new reprints of the books and wish I could get the Illustrated Sorcerer’s Stone (book 1 in HP series). But alas I already have two and a half editions to the series (the half is some of the European editions).

That illustrated book does look like fun stuff and I was thinking of getting this book. But…

Harry Potter Chamber of Secrets Illustrated edition by JK Rowling

Then I found this when I was looking through Barnes and Noble’s 100 Bestseller list, #3 is the Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets illustrated edition. It’s release date is October 4, 2016. And in Pottermore.com there is a couple articles about the illustrated series. That’s right, I said series. Here’s the article with the “exclusive” look to book 2, and here’s the article about the book and the series.

Harry Potter 2 phoenix

“All seven of J.K.Rowling’s Harry Potter books will be published for the first time in stunning full-colour editions, illustrated by the award-winning artist Jim Kay. The second in the series, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, will publish in October 2016.”

Recap here. That means all 7 books are being illustrated. And the books cost about $25 each! That’s 7 x $25 = $175.

Really Rowling? You want us fans to cough up $175 for these books? And here I thought she was rich enough. She once upon a time said that the Harry Potter books profits go to charity. I don’t know if that’s still the case but these prices are ridiculous! And if that wasn’t enough, Warner Bros in Japan has “re-imagined” the character designs to a “kawaii” (cute) design.

Harry Potter Japanese Kawaii

Money Money Money.

I get that there’s a new Harry Potter world in California now, and that there’s still some profit in these books but good grief!

(Pictures found on Pottermore)


Wazzup Book Fairs?

Ok that’s enough ranting about overpriced books.

LA Times Book Festival

This weekend the Los Angeles Book Festival is at the USC college campus (official site/ Twitter). I wish that I could  but unfortunately I have no transportation. So for now I’ll just be looking through the list of Guest authors and such. Here’s some people I wish I could see.

  • Cecelia Ahern (“Love, Rosie” – My Review)
  • Jesse Andrews (“Me and Earl and the Dying Girl”)
  • Victoria Aveyard (“Red Queen”)
  • (California) Senator Barbara Boxer
  • Cassandra Clare (“Mortal Instruments”)
  • Ally Condie (“Matched” series)
  • Michael Connelly (“Harry Bosch”)
  • Melissa de la Cruz (Witches & Blue Blood series. Her newest book is “The Isle of the Lost: A Descendants Novel.” Its sequel, “Return to the Isle of the Lost,” will be published in May.
  • Taye Diggs (actor)
  • Stan Lee (DC Comics)
  • Joyce Carol Oates (“Foxfire” and many others)
  • … (enough fantasizing for now but there’s so many more)

Wazzup “Dog Hockey”?

Just saw this tonight on the news and just had to share. Too cute.

4 thoughts on “Wazzup Wednesday’s – Apr 6th

Leave a Reply

