Throwback Thursday Reviews

tbt Throwback Thursday book

Throwback Thursday Reviews

A Thursday post of some older reviews that I haven’t posted on my blog here.


Read in June 2012 and Reviewed (Goodreads/ Amazon)

Post Grad by Emily Cassel

Post Grad by Emily Cassel

4 out of 5 stars ★ and a favorite ♥

You can’t plan your life. Life isn’t a easy check list. It’s complex and unpredictable. I figured this out after high shool and my life still isn’t predictable. Ryden Malby sets a timetable list.

  1. High school
  2. College Scholarship.
  3. Limit on Beer consumption and keep scholarship.
  4. Dream job in L.A. with Happerman & Browning.

I know right from the beginning that this wasn’t going to work for her.

She graduates college but always 2nd place to her nemesis, Jessica Bard. She loses the dream job to her nemesis. Now everyone knows that “you can’t always get what you want,” but Ryder doesn’t have any backup strategies. None. So no surprises when she moves back with mom and pop (and Gran and weird younger bro).

The characters in this story are good. I felt like cheering “Go Malbys” with them. Their funny with some weird quirks. Best friend, Adam Davies, is a very loveable guy. He’s a lot more grounded and realistic than Ryder is. Ryder comes off at first as a spoiled selfish girl. But thankfully she realizes her mistakes and fixes her selfish attitude.

This had a bit of predictable parts with some good twists. It was a funny and light romantic coming of age story.

Movie Adaptation:

Post Grad movie

I saw the 2009 movie before I read this. I enjoyed both. They each had their own individual charm.

The movie’s script was ok. The cast was perfect with Alexis Bledel (Gilmore Girls), Zach Gilford (tv shows Friday Night Lights and The Family), Michael Keaton (Batman and Spotlight), Carol Burnett (Carol Burnett Show), Jane Lynch (Glee and Angel From Hell) and Rodrigo Santoro (Charlie’s Angel: Full Throttle and The 33).

Having Carol Burnett and Jane Lynch working together in this movie made it funny. And our dear Rory Gilmore (Alexis Bledel) has to choose between suave older Rodrigo Santoro to baby-face Zach Gilford.

Quotes:

To sum up the family:

“I can’t tell you how sorry I am. About everything. About your poor cat, about that horrendous funeral my dad concocted, and really about my lunatic father in general. I’m sorry you had to move in next to a family of complete weirdos. I don’t know how you’ve put up with all of it. I mean, you never even complained about the busted purple coffin we had sitting in the middle of our front lawn.”
Emily Cassel, Post Grad

This entry was posted in Books, Favorites, Old Reviews, Throwback Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Throwback Thursday Reviews

  1. One day, once I’m no longer a blogger baby, I will be able to do it too. Great idea. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This movie had a great cast! Gosh, I feel like maybe I saw this one. Was there something about a dog getting run over in the driveway or something? Surely, I would remember this cast so maybe that was from another movie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

