Favorites · Music · Soundtracks · Throwback Thursday

My Throwback 90s Women in Music Soundtrack

TBT Mix Tapes

My Throwback 90s Music

Last month I made a playlist of some of the 1980’s music that I listened to. I was going to do a list of all the music for the 1990’s too, but that decade is harder for me to put into one playlist. I have one playlist on my iTunes music but many playlists for the music from the 1990’s. It’s mostly because my music taste started to really expand due to my high school and community college years. So here is one of my playlist from the 1990’s.

Women in Music

Here’s some of my favorite female performers that I really liked during the 1990’s.


Because of Lilith Fair

Liliath Fair.jpg

Lilith Fair was a concert tour and travelling music festival, founded by Canadian musician Sarah McLachlan, Nettwerk Music Group’s Dan Fraser and Terry McBride, and New York talent agent Marty Diamond. It took place during the summers of 1997 to 1999, and was revived in the summer of 2010. It consisted solely of female solo artists and female-led bands. In its initial three years, Lilith Fair raised over $10M for charity.
-from Wikipedia

Water is Wide by Indigo Girls, Jewel and Sarah McLachlan

I was already a fan of a lot of these female music performers, and thanks to this festivals I found some other performers and bands to listen to.


Only Happy When it Rains by Garbage

This song is what made me a fan of this band, and they are still a favorite.


Zombie by The Cranberries

I forget what song it was that got me into liking them. They have so many lovely songs. I’m still a fan of this band.


Fade Into You by Mazzy Star

My sisters were fans of her first so thanks sis. This song is my favorite.


Because of the Not So Famous (at the time)

When I saw these bands perform in the mid 1990’s, not that many people knew of these bands (including myself), especially the band Lush.

Ladykillers by Lush

Car Song by Elastica


Because of Tori Amos

I was already a fan of Tori Amos before her fourth album, From the Choirgirl Hotel, was released. This album means something to me because this is the time when I went to see her concert in Anaheim. I loved her performance at this concert, she was amazing!

Spark by Tori Amos


Because of the radio station, KROQ 106.7

I’m Just a Girl by No Doubt

The radio station really over played this song to the point that I started making fun of it. But I still liked this band.


Because I was a Karaoke Queen with this song.

St. Theresa by Joan Osborne

My sisters and I really enjoyed going to Karaoke places in the late 90’s. We went to various places that had these at least once a week. It was mostly to bowling alley bars or to dive bars. We really had fun.


Because of the tv channel, MTV

My sisters watched MTV channel a lot, along with some of 90s tv shows like 90210. I liked MTV because of Daria and

It’s Oh So Quiet by Bjork

Bjork’s videos are really awesome. This is the first one I saw and it got me hooked in becoming a fan of hers.


Because of the Movies

From the movie City of Angels starring Meg Ryan and Nicolas Cage.

Uninvited by Alanis Morissette

I liked Morissette’s older songs for a while there, until MTV and the radio stations over played them. Her song Uninvited got me to start liking her again.

10 thoughts on “My Throwback 90s Women in Music Soundtrack

  1. Zo-om-bie Zo-om-bie Zombie-ie-ie (or however it goes – it’s clear in my head though)…he he, another trip to those awesome days! And how we bought entire CDs just for one song and sometimes got lucky if the band had other good stuff on the album and none of your school friends knew that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had a friend that really got annoyed(and still does actually) with people who know a band only because of that one song. He’ll go on a rant about how they need to widen their minds, blah blah blah

      Liked by 1 person

    1. When I saw them at a dive venue concert I hadn’t a clue who Luch was and never heard that song. It was a good show and that’s when I learned that the best performances are at the smaller concert places

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know if it’s true or not, but Sarah McLachlan’s song Angel always makes me think of Kurt Cobain. I remember when Garbage was nominated at the Grammy’s for their album Version 2.0. People actually laughed when it they announced it. Ridiculous. I have four of their albums. It was no stroke of luck that they did well. They are good. Wow! Listening to Mazzy Star’s Fade Into You feels like I’m waltzing back into the 90s. You got me with Lush, but based on their sound, they definitely had a connection to groups like Veruca Salt and L7 who I did either listen to or knew songs of theirs from the radio. Remember Naked Eye by Luscious Jackson? I think you already know my penchant for Tori Amos. I’m certainly not silent about it. I have 11 of her albums. I love the acoustic version she did of Crazy from Scarlet’s Walk. So much better than the studio version. Darn it! Why did you have to remind me of Joan Osborne? Thanks for posting a different one of her songs. Again, congrats on 400 followers. Your blog is anything but quiet. All jokes aside, thank u Michelle for making these lists. I really do enjoy them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

