The Classics Club Challenge

classics club

The Classics Club Challenge

I’ve been working on reading more “classic” books for some time now. In my Twenties I read some classics but never enough I think. Now in my Thirties I have been reading a lot more books than before. In my lifetime I am pretty sure that I have read 56 books that are “classics.” Here’s a link for my list of those books if you would like to see them. What have I classified as a classic book is any book that has been published before the 21st century. When I have considered it that way my reading list has increased and there’s only been a few from the 1980s.

The Club

Since I have already been pushing myself to read more classics, joining The Classics Club should be a cinch, except that I need to come up with a list of 50 books I hope to read within 5 years. So here goes nothing in making that list.

My goal is to read about 10 classic book a year, so by the end of 5 years, hopefully I’ll have a lot of these books completed.

And as this is my own list, I reserve the right to change it (though I know that the Club requires 50 books on this list).

If you have read or heard of any of these books, your feedback would be very helpful.

The 50 TBR Classic Books

Books that in Bold are ones that I’m currently reading. Books in Red are books I finished.

  1. Castle Rackrent by Maria Edgeworth
  2. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery
  3. Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin
  4. The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James
  5. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
  6. Villette by Charlotte Brontë
  7. Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
  8. Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
  9. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  10. Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
  11. Brighton Rock by Graham Greene
  12. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  13. The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald
  14. The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle
  15. Libra or Zero K by Don DeLillo
  16. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  17. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  18. Dr Zhivago by Boris Pasternak
  19. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  20. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  21. So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish (Hitchhiker’s Guide, book 4) by Douglas Adams
  22. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
  23. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
  24. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
  25. The Thirty-Nine Steps by John Buchan
  26. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  27. Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  28. My Antonia by Willa Cather
  29. The Adventures of Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi
  30. The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper
  31. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
  32. Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks
  33. Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
  34. The World According to Garp by John Irving
  35. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving
  36. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
  37. The Mysteries of Udolpho by Anne Radcliffe
  38. Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
  39. Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton
  40. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  41. Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
  42. 12 Years a Slave by Solomon Northup
  43. Tusk Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
  44. Mary Poppins by P. L. Travers
  45. Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Florence Atwater and Richard Atwater
  46. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
  47. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  48. Ross Poldark by Winston Graham
  49. To Sir, With Love by E. R. Braithwaite
  50. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

And the Rereads

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen - Bantam Classics

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  3. The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux
  4. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
  5. Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien
  6. The Two Towers by J. R. R. Tolkien
  7. The Return of the King by J. R. R. Tolkien
  8. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  9. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

For The Classics Spin 20

(Here’s the books I’m more likely to read in 2016).

  1. Tusk Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
  2. Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin
  3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
  4. So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish (Hitchhiker’s Guide, book 4) by Douglas Adams
  5. The Mysteries of Udolpho by Anne Radcliffe
  6. Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
  7. 12 Years a Slave by Solomon Northup
  8. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery
  9. Mary Poppins by P. L. Travers
  10. Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Florence Atwater and Richard Atwater
  11. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
  12. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  13. Ross Poldark by Winston Graham
  14. To Sir, With Love by E. R. Braithwaite
  15. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
  16. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
  17. Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks
  18. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
  19. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
  20. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

If you have read or heard of any of these books, your feedback would be very helpful.

This entry was posted in Books, Challenges, Classic, TBR and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Classics Club Challenge

  1. I’ve read most of those on your lists. I think you’d like The Handmaid’s Tale

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    The picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde and The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson are two of my favourite and most quotable books! Absolutely loved them and there great quick reads. Enjoy reading these!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just finished Pride and prejudice and loved it! I’ve read The hobbit and The fellowship of the ring. The Hobbit’s an easy read, although I wanted more from it and I struggled a little with the fellowship, but enjoyed overall. This is a cool goal. I might like a go at it! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. piratepatty says:

    That is a really nice list! Good Luck with them!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Betty says:

    Great list! I have many of those, and plan to read them at some point. Might I suggest Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen? I really enjoyed reading that one. Also, if you enjoy Anne of Green Gables, you might want to go ahead and read the entire series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Michelle says:

      Thank you. I have read and loved all of Austen’s books. I actually reread Sense and Sensibility last year or so. Now I’ve just finished rereading Pride and Prejudice for the 3rd time.

      Anne of Green Gables is one of those books that my parents wanted me to read. And I started but wasn’t impressed because they wanted me to read it. So now I’m giving it another try.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi! Welcome to the club 🙂 Great list! I’ve read quite a few on your list — Anne of Green Gables and Jane Eyre and Rebecca and LOTR and The Hound of the Baskervilles are dear favorites of mine. And Jane Austen! I think you’re going to have a lot of fun with this list 🙂

    If you’re not committed to reading this in a specific order, I’m planning to begin a read-along of Jane Eyre toward the end of next month, and you are welcome to join us! I don’t have a lot of info posted for it yet, but there are a a couple buttons here, and if you want to know more about how I run my read-alongs, you can visit previous ones via links here.

    Nice to “meet” you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Michelle says:

      Thanks. I am hoping for a good reading time for this year. I was in a reading slump for the past two months and have finally gotten over that hump by reading a couple of classic books. Rereading Austen’s book has helped the most I think.

      The Jane Eyre read along sounds great. I look forward to that.

      Like

  7. Jillian says:

    I hope you’re loving Anne of Green Gables!! I adore that one. If you haven’t seen it, you should watch the 1987 adaptation after you read the book. SO CHARMING. Also, I LOVE The Mysteries of Udolpho! x

    Welcome to the club, Michelle! (Jane Eyre is INCREDIBLE.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Michelle says:

      I am liking Anne some, but I’m just taking my time in reading it. I have heard a lot of glowing opinions for the 1987 adaptation. I haven’t seen it yet but it’s on my to-be-watch list.
      Thanks for the welcome

      Like

  8. Welcome to the Classics Club!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. vickgoodwin says:

    You just can’t go wrong with The Secret Garden and Great Expectations. Both are absolute favorites of mine! Great list!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

