Book vs Movie · Books · Favorites · Harry Potter · Harry Potter Read-Along · movie · TGIF

Harry Potter Read-Along: The Beginnings

Michelle Book Addict Harry Potter Read-Along

Harry Potter Read-Along (or Watch-Along)

On Tuesday’s TBR post, I announced that I was going to start a Harry Potter Read-Along. Today is the beginning of that event. How long will this event last? Well, I’m hoping that it would be about a week, and to do at least one or so of the books and movies (I read slow because life gets in the way).

You can follow my reading progress (and others) through Social Media: Twitter

#HarryPotterReadAlong #MichelleBookAddict (and also there’s #ReadtheMagic)

The Beginnings

First, what book or movie are you currently working on reading right now? Is this your first time reading or watching this series?

Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone kindle

I’m actually working on re-reading the first book, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I have also re-watched the first seen of the movie (same title).

I have read and watched this movie countless times already, and yet I still enjoy them.

(You don’t have to read or watch the first book like I am if you have already read or watched this series. Feel free to jump to whichever book.)


Tell us the First Lines of the book (and/ or the First Scene of the movie). Tell us what you think so far of this beginning.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone book

Harry Potter C01 The Boy Who Lived

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling. Chapter One, The Boy Who Lived.

“Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.”

DudleyDursley_WB_F1_DursleyFamily_Promo_080615_Port
I just love this beginning. The descriptions of exactly what sort of people the Dursley‘s are is great. I do wish they had some of that in the movie, but we only got to hear this part from Professor Minerva McGonagall point of view. There is even bits where we get to really know about the excitement about You-Know-Who finally being gone.

And were the Dursley‘s really “normal”? With their spoiled boy, and the way Mrs. Dursley is always spying on the neighbors for gossip. It’s all strange. Hmm well I guess it’s a good thing she has such a long neck so that she can spy over the garden fences.

And get this, Mrs. Dursley has blonde hair, where as you can see the actress has dark brown hair. But at least the movie got it right for Mr. Dursley.


And lastly, what Harry Potter memorabilia or collections do you have for the book and/ or movie you are currently working on?

Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone books

I have bought so many memorabilia and collections (or as my mom would call junk). It has become difficult in deciding where to store them all. My book and movie collections are of course on the top part of their shelve, but they are also collecting dust, even if it’s only been untouched for a week or so. As for the other goodies, bookmarks, clothes and so on, well lord knows where they are because their spot changes all the time. I blame the pixies.


Amazon.com goodreads-badge-add-plus


Remember, you may join in my Harry Potter Read-Along (and Watch-Along) at any time.

Michelle Book Addict Harry Potter Read-Along

Be sure to link up here in the comments with your blog page so that other’s can see. And don’t forget link me up on your blog too and help yourself to the Read-Along Banner. And if you don’t have a blog, then feel free to post your opinions and your progress in the comments below.

And feel free to answer the topic questions I have listed in my posts in the comments below, or in your own blog.

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter Read-Along: The Beginnings

Leave a Reply

